LIQUID TENSION EXPERIMENT (Portnoy / Petrucci / Rudess / Levin) – LTE 3 (2021)

If you’re the sort of Dream Theater fan who finds yourself thinking, ‘sure, the 10-minute epics are great … I just wish they had more crazy extended instrumental passages’ … well, you might have a serious prog problem.
But you’ll also love the new LIQUID TENSION EXPERIMENT record, ”Liquid Tension Experiment 3”. The all-instrumental effort finds Dream Theater guitarist John Petrucci and keyboardist Jordan Rudess joining up once again with drummer Mike Portnoy — himself a former DT member who now handles the kit for Sons of Apollo, Metal Allegiance, the Winery Dogs and any number of prog super-groups — and bass and Chapman Stick icon Tony Levin, who has played with everyone from King Crimson and Peter Gabriel to Yes, Alice Cooper and John Lennon.
Still remember more than 2 decades ago when I heard this band’s first album… jaw dropping. ‘LTE 3’ not only produces the same effect, but now in a more mature and intelligent way…

JOHN PETRUCCI – Terminal Velocity (2020)

JOHN PETRUCCI‘s ”Terminal Velocity” marks the first solo album by the world-renowned Dream Theater guitarist to be released since 2005’s Suspended Animation. Written and produced by Petrucci, the album sees the return of bassist Dave LaRue, who played on John’s debut solo album and subsequent G3 tours, as well as, an eagerly anticipated reunion with former Dream Theater Mike Portnoy, who performed all drums.
The 9 songs on ”Terminal Velocity” showcase John’s affinity for writing tightly-weaved guitar instrumental powerhouses that feature everything from monster riff breaks to passion-filled melodic themes and all-out shred extravaganzas.