STRIFE – Rush +3 [Rock Candy Remastered & Reloaded] (2021) *EXCLUSIVE*

STRIFE - Rush +3 [Rock Candy Remastered & Reloaded] (2021) *EXCLUSIVE* full

The two first, influential albums from hard rock progressive UK act STRIFE have been Remastered & Reloaded by Rock Candy Records, released few days ago. We already presented here in exclusive the band’s second LP, now it’s time for their debut record “Rush“, including as bonus tracks the very first demos STRIFE recorded at Universal Studios with excellent sound quality.

STRIFE gained considerable success during the 1970s, playing a succession of college and club gigs which helped to secure a firm foothold in the British market. Their reputation as a band that could deliver consistent performances was well documented and attracted a large following. This intense activity won them a highly coveted record deal with Chrysalis records and the release of ‘’Rush’’, their debut album.

Despite the fact that they were, in effect, a power trio, the band’s music was far more considered than what might reasonably be expected from such an outfit. Digging deep into mid-Seventies progressive rock, this Liverpool-based band ploughed a niche that relied on adventurous arrangements, expressive lyrical themes and a penchant for mixing solid hard rock with long passages that consistently revealed more of their style with every listen.

Led by frontmen bassist/vocalist Gordon Rowley and guitarist John Reid, Strife’s sound was built on this punchy progressive rock imbibed with heavy riffs and the impressively layered vocals.
Indeed, it was the sound of the times and attracted enthusiastic praise, despite a number of logistical setbacks, not least of all a record company that was fast losing interest and a difficult production process.

Produced by R. Dean Taylor (most notable for the hit single ‘There’s A Ghost In My House’) and recorded in London and San Francisco, “Rush” mix the best from the best hard rocking punch at the time with expansive progressive elements, perhaps being the album’s standout tracks the epic seven minute ‘Indian Dream’, and the multi-part title track that’s blessed with an adventurous sonic tapestry and boasts a fiercely dramatic showdown.
An album that needed a proper remastered, very well done by Rock Candy.
Highly Recommended

Only at 0dayrox


01 – Backstreets of Heaven
02 – Man of the Wilderness
03 – Magic of the Dawn
04 – Indian Dream
05 – Life is Easy
06 – Better Man Than I
07 – Rush
08 – Magic in My Mind [Demo Universal Studios]
09 – Tawny Eyes [Demo Universal Studios]
10 – Worry [Demo Universal Studios]

Guitar, Harmonica, Vocals – John Reid
Bass Guitar, Vocals – Gordon Rowley
Drums – Paul H. Ellson



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Örjan says:

    Thank you! I guess that Waysted, Lion and Wildlife will come soon too …!? 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.