SHOUT – In Your Face [Limited Edition Remastered] (2019) *EXCLUSIVE*

SHOUT - In Your Face [Digitally Remastered] (2019) full

One of the most rocking and underrated albums from the glorious 1989 year has been remastered in its 30th anniversary: “In Your Face”, by SHOUT. Do you like Whitesnake’s ‘American’ era circa ‘Slip Of The Tongue’? Then you need to check out this killer disc now.

If one wants a high quality Eighties melodic hard rock band with needed elements in the form of catchy songs, soaring vocals and shredding guitar leads – not to mention the spandex and aqua net to go hand in hand – then you can hardly go wrong with Shout.
Shout formed in 1986 when vocalist and guitarist Ken Tamplin, previously part of melodic metal act Joshua, and guitarist Chuck King, member of AOR / melodic rock group Idle Cure, met via an ad in a Los Angeles area classified paper, The Recycler. With bassist Loren Robinson (also Joshua) rounding out its initial lineup, the band arrived at the name Shout.
After submitting a demo tape, Shout signed a deal with Frontline Records in 1987 and went on to record their first album with some session musicians helping. It was a moderate success, but Shout toured all over the US.

This follow up effort from 1989 “In Your Face” found Shout rounding out its roster with drummer Joseph Galletta and keyboard player Marc Hugenberger in delivering the overall bigger and heavier sound while maintaining the melodic hard rock hook driven penchant.
Now solidified as band, Shout wanted a punchy commercial sound so in vogue around 1988-89, and the production is huge, multi-tracked, big.

Indeed, “In Your Face” highlights the typical growth songwriting wise bands make between their first and second albums. Catchy US MHR hooks is the motto here, as found on opening cut “Borderline” in combining a firm guitar presence with an engaging layered vocal harmony driven refrain, and follow up number “When The Love Is Gone” from matching the heaviness while upping the forthright melody to even higher levels.

In a more commercial vein is “Give Me An Answer”, slickly done with killer guitar work to start and pristine refrain to repeat song’s title in sleek fashion.
Bordering AOR, “Faith, Hope And Love” set apart with its draw-you-in-at-once radio friendly melody and smooth production. A mid-tempo ballad appears in “Waiting On You”, lightening impetus as even guitars and airy keyboards stand alongside Tamplin’s gripping vocal performance.

Upping aggression is “Getting’ Ready”, upholding a driving mentality to find quite the catchy chorus dig and bite, and albums title track, perhaps Tamplin’s finest ever composition with its metal guitar sheen in playing up a montage of Eighties guitar shredders: Lanny Cordola, Michael Angelo, Marty Friedman, Randy Hansen and others. Killer track.
Manifesting the bluesy but also of a forthright nature is “It’s All I Need”, catchy as anything here but with more of a straight on hard rocking edge pointing towards the gusty mid-paced.
More AOR waves appear with the elevated keyboard use in “Ain’t Givin’ Up”, very melodic and with a slightly British feel.

Filler bug again rears its head in the form of a pair of tracks to never have done anything for me: ordinary rocker “Getting On With Life” to feature Hammond B3 and “Ain’t Givin’ Up” on the medium to good side with its elevated keyboard use. Replace both with two others of the same quality to remainder of albums material and Shout would have an album of the year candidate on its hands.

SHOUT - In Your Face [Digitally Remastered]

If you missed out on Shout back in the day or are interested in an upgraded version (original release is out of print) of “In Your Face”, this remaster sounds terrific. The album itself is a terrific slice of catchy, hooky US Melodic Hard Rock plenty of biting songs and melodic, AORish tunes / harmonies.
As said, in the vein of Whitesnake’s ‘Slip Of The Tongue’, Hurricane, Lion, etc.
HIGHLY Recommended

Only at 0dayrox


01 – Borderline
02 – When The Love Is Gone
03 – Give Me An Answer
04 – Faith, Hope And Love
05 – Gettin’ Ready
06 – In Your Face
07 – Getting On With Life
08 – Waiting On You
09 – Moonlight Sonata (In 32nd Notes)
10 – It’s All I Need
11 – Ain’t Givin’ Up (The Pay The Bills Song)

Lead Vocals, Guitar – Ken Tamplin
Guitar, Backing Vocals – Chuck King
Bass, Backing Vocals – Loren Robinson
Drums – Joseph Galletta
Keyboards – Marc Hugenberger
guest Guitar (6) – Lanny Cordola, Michael Angelo Batio, Marty Friedman, Alex Masi

Remastered by Rob Cowell at Bomborks Sound



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Örjan says:

    What a nice surprise! But 30 years!? Time flies for sure… Have this one on LP, but quite a long time since I played it.

  2. guitarrizer says:

    Excellent music, thank you! Gonna find it on CD.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.