SKIN – Skin +7 [Rock Candy Remastered & Reloaded] Out Of Print

SKIN - Skin +7 [Rock Candy remaster] full

SKIN, one of the finest UK melodic hard rock acts emerged during the ’90s, finally got their long time out of print self titled debut Skin re-issued, remastered by Rock Candy Records at 24-bit from the original source tapes plus 7 bonus tracks.
Some kind of a super-group, Skin was founded in 1993 by ex-Jagged Edge members Myke Gray and Andy Robbins (also formerly of Tokyo Blade and the awesome cult classic outfit Shogun) along with AORsters Kooga vocalist Neville MacDonald and drummer Dicki Fliszar, formerly from Bruce Dickinson’s touring band and melodic hard rockers Vamp.

After delivering some excellent albums, the band remained inactive since 1998 until it was announced that Skin would be playing at the Download Festival 2009. The guys realized that the spark that kept them together those years ago was still there, and decided to make an acoustic album.

Following this, Skin went back into the studio to record what was described as their final album, the very good ‘Breaking The Silence’ already reviewed here on this blog.
But the fans and the new generation of melodic rockers were eager for the first album to be reissued.
Well, Rock Candy did it, in a remastered form plus a bunch of bonuses.

Skin’s self-titled debut album is big on hard hitting guitar riffs, killer hooks and meticulous production courtesy of master Keith Olsen (Whitesnake, Scorpions, Ozzy Osbourne).
At the year of its original release, “Skin” was like an oasis in the middle of the (grungy) desert. The band’s terrific late ’80s sound compared to Tyketto and British Thunder is a blast, and this CD was undoubtedly one of the best that year.

Vocalist Nev MacDonald shone at the mid-Eighties with the excellent band Kooga. Here he sings in a more power hard-bluesy style with an awesome range in the finest Coverdale / Rodgers mold.
Myke Gray’s impeccable guitar work is the driven force of the band, all sustained by a very, very tight rhythm section.

I can’t find a weak song on SKIN’s debut, all are kickin’ melodic hard rockers such as the top 20 hit single “Money”, the scorching Mr. Big-like “Look But Don’t Touch”, or the super melodic “Tower of Strength”.
You can’t go wrong with a song entitled “Raised On Radio”, the acoustic “Colourblind” sounds as the best Tyketto and “Wings Of An Angel” is a beautifully crafted ballad.

The bunch of bonus tracks are really good as well, including the songs from their rare self-released EP (previous to this CD); “Money”, the rockin’ cover of Elvis Costello’s “Pump It Up” and their fantastic take on The Clash classic “Should I Stay Or Should I Go”.
“Good Good Lovin” has an Americanized sound (reminds me Trixter), “This Planet’s On Fire” rocks good and “Take Me Down To The River” has an early Whitesnake vibe.

SKIN - Skin +7 [Rock Candy remaster] back cover

SKIN’s debut is one of the finest Melodic Hard Rock albums released by a British band during the Nineties, full of fire and melody. hook-laden songs, great vocals and top musicianship, all wrapped by a first class production.
This is a not-to-be-missed reissue, with a great remastering job and the plus of 7 really good and hard to find songs. This is the best version you can find of this great disc. Unfortunately seems out of print now…
Highly Recommended


01 – Money
02 – Shine Your Light
03 – House Of Love
04 – Colourblind
05 – Which Are The Tears
06 – Look But Don’t Touch
07 – Nightsong
08 – Tower Of Strength
09 – Revolution
10 – Raised On Radio
11 – Wings Of An Angel
12 – Monkey
13 – Should I Stay Or Should I Go
14 – Pump It Up
15 – Good Good Lovin’
16 – This Planet’s On Fire
17 – Take It Easy
18 – Take Me Down To The River

Neville MacDonald: lead vocals, guitar
Myke Gray: guitars
Andy Robbins: bass
Dicki Fliszar: drums, percussion
Robert Mason (Lynch Mob, Warrant): guest backing vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.