FIREHOUSE – Hold Your Fire +2 [Japan Metal Masters Series remastered]

FIREHOUSE - Hold Your Fire [Japan Edition remastered +2] full

As part of the Japanese Sony Music Metal Masters Series, here’s FIREHOUSE second effort “Hold Your Fire“, fully remastered including two bonus tracks. FireHouse’s “Hold Your Fire” sports *The Sound* that defined the Melodic Hard Rock genre between 1990-92. And coupled with truly awesome songs.

Again produced by master David Prater, the sophomore release from the North Carolina band has an overall heavier sound then the band’s debut, although still retains the melody and hooks of their trademark sound.

In fact, there’s not such heaviness on “Hold Your Fire”, but more edgy guitars. Around the time, acts such as Damn Yankees, Aerosmith or soon Hardline added this characteristic to their Melodic Hard Rock recipe, and FireHouse embraced it for “Hold Your Fire”.

FIREHOUSE - Hold Your Fire [Japan Edition remastered +2] disc

The hooks are even bigger than before, and you have absolute belters here such as title track ‘Hold Your Fire’ (my favorite) where the band skillfully combine strong guitar riffs mixing distorted & clean tones with acoustics resulting in a terrific aural experience.

I also love the stratospheric ‘Reach For The Sky’ and its killer chorus, then the harder edge on the guitars can be heard on the excellent ‘Rock You Tonight’, ‘Mama Didn’t Raise No Fool’, and ‘You’re Too Bad’.
I really like as well the hairy melodic rocker ‘Sleeping With You’, the elaborated midtempo ‘Hold The Dream’ and the #3 chart-topping power ballad ‘When I Look Into Your Eyes’.

FIREHOUSE - Hold Your Fire [Japan Edition remastered +2] back

This Japanese remastered edition includes two juicy bonus tracks: ‘Shake & Tumble’ and ‘Don’t Treat Me Bad’ from the first album both recorded live in Lafayette at the Cajun Dome 1991. It seems FireHouse was ‘on fire’ that night. Great versions captured very raw.
None Melodic Hard Rock collection is complete without FireHouse’s “Hold Your Fire”, and this Japanese remastered edition is the one to treasure. It sounds awe-so-me.
I love this album. A MUST HAVE

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox


Sony Music Japan ~ EICP-979
『 F I R E H O U S E 』

01 – Reach For The Sky
02 – Rock You Tonight
03 – Sleeping With You
04 – You’re Too Bad
05 – When I Look Into Your Eyes
06 – Get In Touch
07 – Hold Your Fire
08 – The Meaning Of Love
09 – Talk Of The Town
10 – Life In Th Real World
11 – Mama Didn’t Raise No Fool
12 – Hold The Dream
13 – Shake & Tumble (Live)
14 – Don’t Treat Me Bad (Live)

C.J. Snare – lead & backing vocals, keyboards
Bill Leverty – guitars, backing vocals
Perry Richardson – bass, backing vocals
Michael Foster – drums, percussion



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.