ANDY ROCK (Wild Rose) – Into The Night (Out Of Print)

ANDY ROCK - Into The Night full class=

Greek guitarist ANDY ROCK started to play in rock bands in the early 2000. His main influences are some of the greatest rock acts such as Bon Jovi, ’80s Michael Bolton and Richard Marx.
In 2004, Andy formed Wild Rose and together released the sensational Melodic Rock AOR album ‘Half Past Midnight’ in 2011, highly praised by the fans of the genre.
Into The Night” is Andy Rock solo debut CD where he plays most of the instruments including singing, except for drums which are provided by Giannis Papavasiliou.
Released by AOR Heaven Records, “Into The Night” is out of print now with copies being sold for over € 250.

If I had been handed this album and told it was the second album from Wild Rose, I would have believed them. So if you’re an established fan of the aforementioned band you’ll know exactly what to expect, and trust me, you’ll love it.

Andy unashamedly writes in a very Eighties American AOR style, filled with full frontal keyboards, wall to wall melodies and anthemic choruses.
“Love is Not A Game” has a driving riff which is combined with an infectious keyboard line underpinning this great opening track. It’s a smooth rocker with a chorus that captures you from the first spin. There’s some great guitar licks and solo’s and the fluttering keyboards make the song have a real impact.

“It’s Not Over” would fit perfectly in Wild Rose’s debut album. A lovable smooth AOR tune and one of my personal favorite from this debut. “U Belong To Me” has some parping synths and it’s a song that builds nicely to a huge chorus.
The atmospheric ballad “Lonely Heart” will definitely hit the spot with west coast AOR fans. It’s soft and cheesy, but really nice to the ears.

Perhaps the more solid track on this CD is “Cryin’ Every Night (In The Rain)”, a driving AOR melody with a sing along chorus. There’s a fabulous guitar riff that powers the song.
“I Wanna Be With You” is a laid back ballad, a bit poppy, with a gripping guitar rhythm and a tranquil chorus, followed by the synth laden mid-tempo rocker “Waiting For Your Love”.

“Without You” is really catchy and extremely radio friendly, much in the vein of Wild Rose. Instrumental “Emotions” is an ok atmospheric and laid back piece, and leads into the dance floor filling finale of the album.
“Out In The Streets” is an energetic and infectious melodic rocker with an anthemic chorus and rapid-fire keyboards, whilst title track “Into The Night” rocks with catchiness over a wonderful melodic guitar riff.

ANDY ROCK - Into The Night (2012) back

As expected, “Into The Night”, Andy Rock’s solo debut is inspired by the sound of the AOR genre’s heyday, a collection of summertime feel-good tunes performed with passion and affection.
I like the way Andy blends the guitar and keyboard sounds to give the songs maximum impact, putting in mind British band Outside Edge and of course his own group Wild Rose.

Most of the tracks on ‘Into The Night’ are lovable, unadulterated keyboard driven Melodic Rock AOR numbers that ’80s die hard AORsters (like me) will enjoy with a big smile on the face.
Easily Recommended


01. Love Is Not A Game
02. It´s Not Over
03. U Belong To Me
04. Lonely Heart
05. Cryin’ Every Night (In The Rain)
06. I Wanna Be With You
07. Waiting For Your Love
08. Without You
09. Emotions (Instrumental)
10. Out On The Streets
11.Into The Night

Andy Rock – Lead Vocals, Guitars, Bass, Keys
Giannis Papavasiliou – Drums
Chris Siloma – Backing Vocals



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Tom says:

    Awesome! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.