KICK (Nick Workman of Vega) – New Horizon [Remastered & Expanded]

KICK (Nick Workman of Vega) - New Horizon [Remastered & Expanded]<br /> full

KICK were one of the most underrated bands on the planet, having crafted all over 3 albums a unique sound which encompasses the best of traditional British hard rock with radio friendly modern melodic rock choruses. Their last album “New Horizon” has been Remastered & Expanded with extra tracks, a worthy addition to your collection for sure.

There is nothing I like better than a record that pushes the classic melodic rock format into something fresh, but retains the power and the characteristics of the past. Kick seem to do it with ease and on ‘New Horizon’ they might just have recorded their best album.
And of course there’s Nick Workman’s impressive vocals. His melodic friendly tone is refreshing over so many other modern vocalists that ‘talk’ over the music. It’s also great to see the art of tasteful guitar soloing hasn’t been lost on these guys as well.

Opener ‘Electric Storm’ is a strong rocker enhanced by some well placed synth and production effects. As expected the vocals are powerful and direct while the lead guitar work helps keep it melodic. Title track ‘New Horizon’ has a darker tone, but come chorus time its classic hard rock all the way. A clever and well orchestrated track with a great guitar riff underlying the tone.

Since its first bits ‘Paralysed is a clear winner. As the track develops it just gets more intense and that chorus with the soaring vocals just blows you away. ‘Give Me Something’ is another instant classic. What a gem of a song; powerful and emotionally damaging. This classy rock ballad builds from a moody intro into a soaring modern melodic rock anthem.

‘High’ acts as a tension circuit breaker. It’s been an intense ride so far and this easy going, feel good straight ahead rocker changes the pace nicely. ‘Power Within’ gets the tone of the album back on the dark and moody path taken by the opening tracks. Another memorable track, this mid-tempo rocker relies on more production tricks and a strong vocal to guide it.
‘Forever Yours’ is another classic tune. This is a very original track that has an atmospheric modern intro, before a killer lead guitar riff appears and leads the listener into the powerful song that gets better each listen. Smart arrangements, great songwriting and that guitar riff make the song very catchy.

The acoustic driven ‘Watch Me Fly’ acts as another great change of pace in the album. This sentimental rock ballad intensifies mid-song into a full band effort, featuring a fantastic vocal driven chorus.
‘Access Denied’ is another favorite, this time it’s a foot to the floor hard rocker with a strong modern production. The guitar riff, the dual acoustic/electric approach and a hard rocking chorus prove to be a memorable combination.

‘In Too Deep’ rocks a again, this time in hard rocking fashion that reminds me of Thunder. It’s one of the more aggressive tracks on the album and runs at double time most of the time. Not the catchiest chorus featured on ‘New Horizon’, but there is a great mid-track bridge and guitar solo that impresses.
‘Star’, one of the bonuses, it’s just Workman and a piano, and the beautiful melody is very Vega-like, while the melodic ‘Abandon Me’ isn’t far from what TNT was doing at the time.
Highly Recommended


01 – Electric Storm
02 – New Horizon
03 – Paralysed
04 – Give Me Something
05 – Power Within
06 – High
07 – Forever Yours
08 – Watch Me Fly
09 – Access Denied
10 – Bone
11 – In Too Deep
12 – Star (Bonus Track)
13 – Shout (Bonus Track)
14 – Abandon Me (Bonus Track)

Nick Workman – vocals
Mikey J – bass, guitars, vocals
Chris Jones – guitars, vocals
Olli Cunningham – keyboards
Adam Schunker – drums



You may also like...

4 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hey there, thanks for this, however the link appears to be for the ‘Sweet Lick of Fire’ rather than ‘New Horizon’

  2. Mark G. says:

    Looking for anything from Bon Jovi guitarist Phil X. There are at least four albums from Phil X and The Drills. Never hard to find.

  3. LDKO says:

    Thanks for this great upload !!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.