YOUNG GUN SILVER FOX – Canyons +1 (2020)

KISS - Chikara [Japan only release out of print] full

With their first two albums Andy Platts and Shawn Lee, better known as YOUNG GUN SILVER FOX, formulated a modern version of the classic West Coast AOR and FM soft rock sounds. The third album “Canyons” consequently develops the formula with ten well thought-out compositions, wonderful harmonies, incisive brass and inimitable sound images.

Young Gun Silver Fox’s approach has worldwide respect, especially in Japan and Europe where they are the only current band to feature in the soft rock TV documentary “I Can Go For That” on the BBC.
Like the two predecessors, “Canyons” was once again composed, recorded and produced by Platts & Lee in their London studio.

The ten new songs are an incredible journey through all facets of the golden era of soft rock between 1978 and 1984. “Who Needs Words”, “Long Distance Love Affair” or “Things We Left Unsaid” could also be found on albums by genre heroes like Pages, Stylus and Player.
“Dream Woman” has a Chicago touch, “Danny Jamaica” is perhaps the crazy theme music of a lost TV series from the 1970s.
A real AOR album includes the great ballad (“All This Love”) and poppy melodic stuff like “Kids” and the breezy “Private Paradise”.

“Canyons” refers to the importance of the valleys around Los Angeles to the West Coast sound: Some of the most important albums of the 1970s were created in Topanga and Laurel Canyon, they were simply mystical, magical places.
Even if Platts & Lee were not there, their “canyons” transport this magic into the present.


01 – Kids
02 – Who Needs Words
03 – Baby Girl
04 – Dream Woman
05 – Long Distance Love Affair
06 – Danny Jamaica
07 – Just for Kicks
08 – Private Paradise
09 – Things We Left Unsaid
10 – All This Love
11 – Whatcha Gonna Do For Me (Bonus Track) *

* Average White Band cover. Standalone single 2020

Andy Platts – Vocals, Guitar Solo, Piano
Shawn Lee – Drums, Bass, Rhodes, Crumar Multiman S, Piano, Clavinet
Tom Richards – Andy Ross
Andy Ross – Saxophone, Flute
Nichol Thomson – Keys & Bass on “Dream Woman”



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.