RON KEEL BAND – South X South Dakota (2020)

RON KEEL BAND - South X South Dakota (2020) full

RON KEEL BAND has a new album titled ‘South X South Dakota‘, a celebration of classic rock classics. “South X South Dakota” pays tribute to the legendary icons of southern rock, as the band tackles material from the Molly Hatchet, .38 Special, Outlaws, Blackfoot, Marshall Tucker Band, Allman Brothers, Atlanta Rhythm Section, etc… and of course Lynyrd Skynyrd.

As example, the first single “Red White & Blue” was a Top 30 hit for Lynyrd Skynyrd in 2003; written by Johnny Van Zant, Donnie Van Zant, Brett Warren and Brad Warren shortly after the 9/11 attacks, Keel feels the song resonates just as loudly now as it did then.

They starts with a cover of classic BLACKFOOT’s ‘Train Train’, but there space for a full of rhythm version of ‘Rockin’ Into The Night’ of .38 SPECIAL, one of my favorite from them, very well done by Ron and his band.

There’s a lot of passion in then anthem ‘Flirtin’ With Disaster’ (MOLLY HATCHET), and on the evergreen classic rocker ‘Ramblin’ Man’ of THE ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND.
We find a brilliant the version of ‘Homesick’, and a nice take on OUTLAWS’ ‘Ghost Riders In The Sky’ before ending with a CREDENCE’s medley.

A stunning tribute to the roots of classic rock and bluesy hard rock, all well played and arranged, recorded with a clear production and with a Ron Keel in his best shape.
Highly Recommended


01 – Train Train
02 – Rockin’ Into The Night
03 – Don’t Misunderstand Me (featuring Jasmine Cain)
04 – Red White & Blue
05 – Flirtin’ With Disaster
06 – Ramblin’ Man
07 – Fire On The Mountain
08 – Mamas Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys
09 – Homesick
10 – Ghost Riders In The Sky
11 – Creedence Medley (Live)

Ron Keel – Lead Vocals / Guitar
Dave “DC” Cothern – Lead Guitar / Vocals
Geno Arce – Bass / Vocals
Jeff Koller – Drums / Vocals
Dakota Scott Schmitt – Keyboards / Vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.