DENNIS DeYOUNG (ex Styx) – 26 East, Vol. 1 (2020)

DENNIS DeYOUNG - 26 East, Vol. 1 (2020) full

Former Styx frontman DENNIS DeYOUNG will release his new album, ’26 East, Volume 1′ via Frontiers Music. Ten songs will comprise the album, DeYoung’s seventh solo studio effort and first in over a decade.
The title “26 East” refers to 26 E. 101st Place, the Chicago address where DeYoung grew up and from where Styx was formed. The record – where Jim Peterik is involved both in songwriting and playing – was originally planned as DeYoung’s final album, but the singer later decided to split it into two separate volumes.

The process that brought forth the album begining in the first place started when Jim Peterik, a fellow Chicagoan and nearby neighbor, sent a song to Dennis.
“If not for Jim Peterik’s encouragement, talent and prodding I would not have recorded this music,” said DeYoung. “He once told me the world needed my music; to which I replied ‘have the world text me for verification.’ We collaborated from the get go, happily and seamlessly and at this time we have written nine songs together of which five will be on Volume 1. Just two Chicago guys doing what they do best, making music and having a laugh.”

The title “26 East” refers to 26 E. 101st Place, the Chicago address where DeYoung grew up and from where Styx was formed. The rocker served as the group’s frontman and primary songwriter over three separate stints: 1972-1984, 1990-1991 and 1995-1999.
The three trains featured on 26 East’s cover art represent the three musicians who founded Styx — DeYoung, along with brothers Chuck and John Panozzo.
Highly Recommended


01 – East of midnight
02 – With all due respect
03 – A kingdom ablaze
04 – You my love
05 – Run for the roses
06 – Damn that dream
07 – Unbroken
08 – The promise of this land
09 – To the good old days
10 – A.D. 2020

Jim Peterik – Guitar, Bass, Keyboard, Vocals and Vuvuzela
August Zadra – Electric Guitars, vocals
Jimmy Leahey – Acoustic and electric guitars
Craig Carter – Bass, vocals and invocations
Mighty Mike Morales – Drums and all day sound checker
John Blasucci – Keyboards
Mike Aquino – Electric Guitars
Kevin Chalfant – backing vocals
Matthew DeYoung – Drums on “To The Good Old Days”
Ed Breckenfeld – Drums on “Unbroken”
Zoe and Austin Orchard for Ring Around The Rosie
The Chicago Children’s Choir and conductor Josephine Lee
Dennis DeYoung – Keyboards, fake drums, fake bass, fake news and some vocals. Oh and Vuvuzela


Pre Order:

You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. Gary says:

    Can’t wait!

  2. Rocken69 says:

    Could we please get their
    Complete Wooden Nickel Recordings?

    Thank You

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.