DENNIS DeYOUNG – …And The Music Of Styx Live in Los Angeles (2014)

DENNIS DeYOUNG - …And The Music Of Styx Live in Los Angeles (2014) 2 CD full

DENNIS DeYOUNG, the legendary front man of Styx and author of key songs that define that band’s career, returned to Los Angeles for the first time during his solo career to play a sold out show at the El Rey Theater. Recorded live for AXS-TV and captured in pristine high quality, the performance has been slated for release via Frontiers Records tomorrow, on CD / DVD & BluRay as “…And The Music Of Styx Live in Los Angeles“.

Dennis DeYoung is ‘the’ voice of Styx. And for the younger ones of you, Styx is the legendary rock band from Chicago which has been very famous especially in the ’70s and the ’80s.
After DeYoung left Styx he focused on his solo career. But “…And The Music Of Styx Live in Los Angeles” brought the singer back to L.A. for this special concert. And he went back in time and performed many highlights of Styx.
The show covers all the important milestones of the legendary Prog / Melodic Rock / AOR band.
It is a great selection that includes earlier hits like “Lady” as well as “Come sail Away”. Of course DeYoung also performed Styx’s mega hit “Mr. Roboto”.

The setlist of the concert was completed by solo material from the extraordinary singer and keyboarder. “Desert Moon” for example is from his first solo release and fits perfect into the framework of the show.
DeYoung’s version of “Don’t Let It End” alone worth the purchase of this double CD. It’s fantastic.

DENNIS DeYOUNG - …And The Music Of Styx Live in Los Angeles (2014) back cover

The concert was quite unique and one of the nicest things with this release is a combination of great songs and a modern production. This let the tracks shine even more.
“…And The Music Of Styx Live in Los Angeles” is not just another ‘live album’. It’s more like a ‘live in the studio’ record, with a crystal clear production and excellent performances (the band is great).
Very Recommended to all, specially if you’re not that familiar with Styx. You’ll love this.


CD 1:
01 – The Grand Illusion
02 – Lady (Live)
03 – Lorelei (Live)
04 – Blue Collar Man
05 – Show Me the Way (Live)
06 – Mr. Roboto
07 – Crystal Ball
08 – Don’t Let It End
09 – Too Much Time on My Hands

CD 2:
01 – Rockin’ the Paradise
02 – Desert Moon
03 – Babe
04 – Fooling Yourself
05 – Suite Madame Blue
06 – The Best of Times
07 – Renegade
08 – Come Sail Away

Dennis De Young: lead vocals, keyboards
John Blasucci: keyboards and backing vocals
Craig Carter: bass and backing vocals
Jimmy Leahey: guitars and backing vocals
Tom Sharpe: drums and percussion
August Zadra: guitars and lead vocals
Suzanne De Young: backing vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.