CANEDY – Warrior (2020)

CANEDY - Warrior (2020) full

Legendary The Rods drummer Carl CANEDY is back with the second full length album with his band that bears his name. His 2014 album Headbanger was more of a solo project with special guest musicians. Canedy’s follow up album “Warrior” is a true band effort, delivering that vintage ’80s hard rock sound with a modern approach.

“Do It Now” is steered by pounding drums and power riffs. The commanding vocals of Mike Santarsiero tells a dark tale of climbing the corporate ladder at the sacrifice of family. “Not Even Love” is a mid-tempo rocker about chasing the spotlight long after your star has faded. Carl Canedy’s steady drum beats are front and center.
Then “Lies” kicks the tempo into high gear. Carl’s drum fills run roughshod all throughout the track, while Charlie Russell delivers a classic early Eighties melodic metal style guitar solo.

As proof this is a real band release, bassist Tony Garuba takes over vocals on “Hellride.” His register is a little lower and more maniacal than Mike’s, and works very well within. The track begins with a deep ominous cello intro, also by Garuba. Carl comes in with kick pedals to the metal on this tale of classic good versus evil.

The album’s title track “Warrior” is the battle cry of the label forsaken metal bands of the 80s. Carl’s marching beat sets the pace of this fist pumping, head banging anthem. Vocalist Mike Santarsiero laments about the common man’s struggle with the government on the quick paced “Out For Blood.”
Closer “Attia” is quite epic, about the mother of Caesar Augustus and Mark Anthony. Even if you don’t know the story, the song is powerful, melodic, and emotional. A real hidden gem that you don’t expect to find at the conclusion of an album.

“Warrior” makes the statement that classic, traditional metal / hard rock never dies. It’s full of thunderous riffs, mighty vocals, thumping bass, and pounding drums that will make amateurs envious. Lyrically the album speaks to the older metal fan, but even the young ones will find something to appreciate.

Produced by Carl Canedy himself – he lived the 80s and know a little about ‘the sound’ – “Warrior” rocks. In a world where new music pretty much sucks, this album contains 10 tracks that you’ll want to listen to over and over.
Highly Recommended


01 – Do It Now
02 – Not Even Love
03 – Lies
04 – Hellride
05 – Warrior
06 – 3rd Time’s a Charm
07 – Out for Blood
08 – In This Sign
09 – The Prize
10 – Attia

Carl Canedy (The Rods) – Drums
Mike Santarsiero – Vocals
Charles Russello – Guitars
Tony Garuba – Bass, Cello



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. melodified says:

    Wow! Canedy is back!!! Too bad Joe is not singing this time..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.