DIO – Magica [2xCD Remastered Deluxe Edition] (2020)

DIO - Magica [2xCD Remastered Deluxe Edition] (2020) full

Eighth studio album by the American metal band DIO, the concept work ‘Magica‘ was originally released in 2000, seeing the return of guitarist Craig Goldy who also has performed on Dio’s album Dream Evil and in the later release Master of the Moon. Magica also features Jimmy Bain on bass and Simon Wright on drums.
This remastered deluxe edition includes a bonus disc featuring unreleased live tracks from the ‘Live on Magica Tour’ tour in 2000/2001, plus the single “Electra” — the only completed studio recording from the planned Magica II album that went unfinished after Dio’s passing in 2010.
Also on the 2nd disc there’s an 18-minute, Ronnie James Dio spoken-word recording called “Magica Story.”

The final four Dio albums — Angry Machines, Magica, Killing The Dragon, and Master of the Moon — are all receiving deluxe reissues with a fresh remastering. Longtime Dio collaborator Wyn Davis oversaw the remastering for all of the material, and designer Marc Sasso updated the album artwork for each release.

This is a very welcome 2xCD set, as the original album released in 2000, despite a reissue done some time ago, still is sought after. Now, Ronnie’s fans will be thrilled to learn that they can get “Magica” once again… only improved and better than ever.

The album not only contains the original CD remastered, which features the DIO classics “Fever Dreams,” “Turn to Stone,” “Lord of the Last Day” and “Feed My Head,” they also get a very special second disc.
The bonus disc contains Ronnie narrating “The Magica Story” in its entirety with his incredible voice, but that’s not all.
After listening to the rock icon tell the tale, there are never before released live tracks from the 2000/2001 ‘Live on Magica Tour’, along with “Electra” which was a song meant for the sequel to “Magica”.

DIO - Magica [2xCD Remastered Deluxe Edition] (2020) back

“Magica” marks the return of guitarist Craig Goldy, and also features Jimmy Bain on bass, Simon Wright on drums, and Scott Warren on keyboards.
I think this underrated concept album is a fantastic piece of work comparable to any DIO ’80s releases, a lot of effort has been put into this creation. Ronnie’s vocals on “Magica” often remind me of the early Rainbow albums, which is great.

This is a double-disc that all of Ronnie’s fans will want into their collection, as it is a tribute to one of the truly great and important figures in Metal Rock history.
HIGHLY Recommended


CD 1:
01 – Discovery (2019 – Remaster)
02 – Magica Theme (2019 – Remaster)
03 – Lord Of The Last Day (2019 – Remaster)
04 – Fever Dreams (2019 – Remaster)
05 – Turn To Stone (2019 – Remaster)
06 – Feed My Head (2019 – Remaster)
07 – Eriel (2019 – Remaster)
08 – Chalis (2019 – Remaster)
09 – As Long As It’s Not About Love (2019 – Remaster)
10 – Losing My Insanity (2019 – Remaster)
11 – Otherworld (2019 – Remaster)
12 – Magica (Reprise) (2019 – Remaster)
13 – Lord Of the Last Day (Reprise) (2019 – Remaster)

CD 2:
01 – Discovery (Live on Magica Tour 2019 – Remaster)
02 – Magica (Live on Magica Tour 2019 – Remaster)
03 – Lord Of The Last Day (Magica Tour) (2019 – Remaster)
04 – Fever Dreams (Live on Magica Tour 2019 – Remaster)
05 – Eriel (Live on Magica Tour 2019 – Remaster)
06 – Chalis (Live on Magica Tour 2019 – Remaster)
07 – Losing My Insanity (Live on Magica Tour 2019 – Remaster)
08 – Otherworld (Live on Magica Tour 2019 – Remaster)
09 – Electra (Studio Track, 2019 – Remaster)
10 – Magica Story (Studio Track, 2019 – Remaster)

Ronnie J Dio – vocals
Craig Goldy – guitar
Jimmy Bain – bass
Simon Wright – drums
Scott Warren – keyboards


Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.