BLACKEYED SUSAN – Electric Rattlebone / Just A Taste (1st time on CD) [Bad Reputation 2-CD remastered] (2019) *EXCLUSIVE*

BLACKEYED SUSAN - Electric Rattlebone / Just A Taste (Unreleased) [Bad Reputation 2-CD remastered] (2019) *EXCLUSIVE* full

Hard rockers BLACKEYED SUSAN were around between 1990 and 1992 releasing ‘Electric Rattlebone’ in 1991 on Mercury Records. Despite featuring Dean Davidson (Britny Fox) and Rick Criniti (Cinderella) they never really stood a chance as grunge was the big thing then.
That album, plus the previously self-released (on cassette only) second recording from 1992 ‘Just A Taste’, are being released by Bad Reputation fully remastered.

Former BRITNY FOX frontman Dean Davidson put together a new outfit following an acrimonious split from his former band mates, amidst tales of punch ups in hotel corridors and accusations that the other members of the band had been more interested in playing Nintendo than rehearsing.
Officially the reason he quit BRITNY FOX was, according to the biography released by Polygram, that he had been disturbed by a trend towards complacency and homogenization in rock n roll.

Once BLACKEYED SUSAN had been put together no less than 8 record labels were beating a path to his door… Amongst the first to join Davidson in this new venture was guitarist / keyboardist Rick Criniti who had previously been a side-man with CINDERELLA, whilst bassist Erik Levy’s main prior claim to fame had been designing the BRITNY FOX logo.

The band’s debut album “Electric Rattlebone”, released almost a year to the day Davidson quit BRITNY FOX was produced by Randy Cantor. Taking their cue from the Seventies bluesy arena rock, BLACKEYED SUSAN travelled the bluesy hard rock path but had enough of their own originality to compete on a level playing field.

The style on “Electric Rattlebone” is bluesy hard rock with a production sound so in vogue in the US around 1990-91: all pristine clear, melodic.

BLACKEYED SUSAN - Electric Rattlebone / Just A Taste (1st time on CD) [Bad Reputation 2-CD remastered] (2019) back

The band split after Mercury pulled the plug on their tour support whilst Davidson & Co, were out on the road in America with BULLETBOYS and THE SCREAM in late ’91.

However, Davidson recruited new musicians and recorded a new album, ‘Just a Taste’, where the bluesy sound resulted augmented. ‘Just a Taste’, never was properly released, and here’s it’s completed and freshly remastered
Great rocking stuff. flesh & blood, from the heart.
Be aware there’s fake versions of this Bad Reputation release floating around; this is the REAL one.
Only at 0dayrox


Disc 1: Electric Rattlebone ’91 (remastered)
01 – Electric Rattlebone
02 – Satisfaction
03 – None Of It Matters
04 – Sympathy
05 – Ride With Me
06 – Old Lady Snow
07 – Don’t Bring Me Down
08 – Indica
09 – She’s So Fine
10 – How Long
11 – Best Of Friends
12 – Holiday
13 – Heart Of The City

Disc 2: Just A Taste ’92 (first time on CD)
01 – Kick The Monkey
02 – Need Somebody
03 – Something To See
04 – Home And A Heart
05 – Amy
06 – It’s Alright
07 – Pack It Up
08 – Mr. Broken Hearted
09 – St. Judes Eyes
10 – Crime To Love You

Dean Davidson – lead vocals, guitar, harmonica
Rick Criniti – lead and slide guitar, vocals, sitar, acoustic guitar
Tony Santoro – lead guitar, vocals, acoustic guitar
Erik Levy – bass, vocals
Chris Branco – drums, percussion

‘Just A Taste’ musicians:
Dean Davidson – lead vocals
Jimmy Marchiano – guitars, vocals
Jeff Cease – guitars
Walter D. Williams – bass, vocals
Joey Marchiano – drums



You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. Anonymous says:

    Can you reapload “helix-long way to heaven”?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.