KING KOBRA – No Waste At All [The Unreleased] 0dayrox compilation

KING KOBRA - No Waste At All [The Unreleased] 0dayrox compilation full

Many of you asked for some rare KING KOBRA material, mostly with Mark Free at the mic. Well, we’ve done our own compilation titled “No Waste At All [The Unreleased]”.
Among the rarities we found here the very first demos King Kobra did for shopping record labels, and while many of these songs – including the songs as Black Roses Band done for the movie of the same name – finally were released in one way or another, few others are unreleased demos.

King Kobra was formed in 1983 when legendary drummer Carmine Appice (Vanilla Fudge, Rod Stewart) approached Mark Free to add his vocals to some tracks he had previously written and recorded with guitarist Earl Slick (John Lennon, David Bowie).

Three songs (all included here) “Overnite Love Affair,” “Fool In The Rain” and “You Are My Life” – were strong enough to secure King Kobra a deal with Capitol Records.
However, producer Spencer Proffer insisted on all new material for the band’s major label debut, and these songs / demos were scrapped, never to be released.

With an album to make, Appice and Free started auditioning players and writing songs. Guitarist Mike Wolfe came aboard and immediately kicked in some song ideas of his own.
Keel’s guitarist David Michael Phillips was then brought in, followed by wild-man bassist Johnny Rod. Before he was able to record a single note, Wolfe bailed out to open a recording studio, and was quickly replaced by Mick Sweda.

The line-up of Free, Phillips, Rod, Sweda and Appice would go on to record two fantastic albums for Capitol – Ready To Strike and Thrill of a Lifetime.
For the next three years, King Kobra toured the world over, barnstorming North and South America – as well as parts of Europe and Japan – supporting such formidable headliners as KISS, Iron Maiden and Queensryche.

During this time, the band attempted to re-introduce their original demos into the fold, adding Rod’s basslines, but sidelining them again before they were able to include Phillips and Sweda.
In 1986, Rod accepted an invitation to join W.A.S.P., and was replaced by Lonnie Vincent. Two new songs were cut – “Lonely Nites” and “Young Hearts Survive” – but were abruptly haulted when Free became dissatisfied with the direction of King Kobra was going.

Stepping in for Free, vocalist Marq Torien, Appice, Phillips, Sweda and Vincent wrote and recorded six fresh tracks, including “Your Love Is A Sin.” Unfortunately, the combination was short-lived as Torien, Sweda and Vincent went on to form Bulletboys, taking along tunes like “Kissin’ Kitty” and others for their own major label debut.

When you think of King Kobra, a vision of four bleached blondes out in front with one of rock’s preeminent drummers in the driver’s seat may come to mind.
Beneath the hype and heydays of the 80s hard rock scene, however, there were true, inherent surges of brilliance from bands like King Kobra who boasted strong songs, precision chops and exuberant performances.

Amidst the shuffle, plenty of ideas would never see the light of day. For King Kobra, much of their most powerful material fell into a well of lost years, and is exclusively presented here into this compilation.
For fans of a period when the hair was big and the notes were fat, it’s a treat worth the wait.
A 0dayrox compilation


01 – Young Hearts Survive
02 – Your Love Is A Sin
03 – Fool In The Rain
04 – Poor Boy (You Are My Life)
05 – Lonely Nites
06 – Give Me A Reason
07 – Overnite Love Affair
08 – Soldiers Of The Night
09 – Paradise (We’re On Our Way)
10 – Teenage Victory
11 – Dance On Fire
12 – Warning Signals
13 – American Band
14 – Rock Invasion
15 – Long Live The Fighters
16 – I’ll Be There
17 – Support Wildlife
18 – Kissin’ Kitty
19 – Bring Back The Fire


only at 0dayrox

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. LDKO says:

    Thanks so much for these rarities especially with mighty singer Mark Free

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.