KING KOBRA – King Kobra [Japan Edition +1]

KING KOBRA - King Kobra [Japan Edition +1] full

In 2010, original members Carmine Appice (drums), Johnny Rod (bass), and guitarists David ‘Michael-Philips’ Henzerling & Mick Sweda reformed KING KOBRA with a new singer. It wasn’t just ‘any’ singer, it was former Rough Cutt / Quiet Riot frontman Paul Shortino – and the result was this very good ‘comeback’ album simply self-titled. This requested Japanese Edition is pretty rare, released via the small Rubicon Music label, including the bonus track ‘Red Flags’.

Listening to this CD there is a timely evidence of a band that knows how to rock and bring it. The undeniable drumming of Appice’s on the heavy-funky track “We Got A Fever” flashes the blade nicely and has a classic rock feel to it.
The steamy racy appeal of “Midnight Woman” may fill the heart of every hard rocking lady that still wears black today with blunted emotion, not to mention an addictive chorus to lead the way.

The fine piece of scorching Hard Rock shreds lead on the pounding of “This Is How We Roll” a tune which has anthem classic written all over it.
One of my favorites has to be the humming chorus in the treacherous gem of “You Make It Easy” where Shortino really shines with his graspy vocals.

KING KOBRA - King Kobra [Japan Edition +1] back

If you’re a fan of classy Melodic Hard Rock then ‘King Kobra’ is already up your alley. The total spirit of rocking entitlement and gusto will never leave bands like these and you get a sense that the record was made for the fans and to just rock out and blast it out loud like it’s meant to be.
HIGHLY Recommended


Rubicon Music Japan 【RBNCD-1041】

01 – Rock This House
02 – Turn Up The Good Times
03 – Live Forever
04 – Tear Down The Walls
05 – This Is How We Roll
06 – Midnight Woman
07 – We Got A Fever
08 – Top Of The World
09 – You Make It Easy
10 – Cryin’ Turns To Rain
11 – Screamin’ For More
12 – Fade Away
13. Red Flags

Carmine Appice – Drums, Percussion, Vocals
David Michael-Philips – Guitars, Keyboards, Vocals
Johnny Rod – Bass
Mick Sweda – Guitars
Paul Shortino – Vocals, Guitar



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. melodified says:

    This release had a very good production. Let’s see how it sounds after the RC rem. Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.