GLENN HUGHES – Justified Man ; The Studio Albums 1995-2003 Remastered (2020)

GLENN HUGHES - Justified Man ; The Studio Albums 1995-2003 Remastered (2020) full

Some time ago Cherry Red / Hear No Evil Records started a GLENN HUGHES reissue program under the title The Glenn Hughes Remasters. We have featured some at 0dayrox, and now the label boxed 6 of Hughes albums into “Justified Man ; The Studio Albums 1995-2003”, all remastered and including the original Japanese edition bonus tracks and more.

These six albums are an opportunity to box up a decade’s worth of Hughes’s career, literally and figuratively.
CD1: Glenn’s fourth solo album, “Feel”, was originally released in 1995, and finds the singer veering towards more pop, soul and funk, with Hughes playing bass again former Guns N’ Roses and Velvet Revolver drummer Matt Sorum guests, and the album also sees a welcome collaboration with his Hughes-Thrall partner, Pat Thrall.
It rocks, but with a funky edge. In retrospect it’s one of his better albums.

CD2: Glenn’s fifth solo album, “Addiction” was released the following year in 1996, and sees the singer returning to a much harder rocking sound. Awesome guitarist Marc Bonilla performs, co-produces and co-wrote nine of the ten original songs.

CD3: Glenn’s 1999 solo album, “The Way It Is” was produced by Glenn & Michael Scott,
has a guest list that includes Keith Emerson, Matt Sorum and Stevie Salas, not to mention two versions of Jimi Hendrix’s Freedom

CD4: on his 2000 solo album, “Return Of The Crystal Karma” Hughes is back to his own band, featuring original material written with guitarist JJ Marsh and keyboard player Hans Zermüehlen. It also includes the track ‘Gone’, co-written with Black Sabbath’s Tony Iommi. The album even features a guest cameo from The Cure’s Lol Tolhurst.

CD5: Released in 2001, “Building The Machine” was the follow-up to 2000’s “Return of Crystal Karma”, and as well as featuring original material written with long-time collaborator and guitarist JJ Marsh. The album also includes a version of the Deep Purple classic, ‘Highball Shooter’, and stellar guests in Pat Travers, John Beasley, and Vince Dicola.

CD6: With a title that pays homage to one of Glenn’s heroes, Stevie Wonder’s “Songs in the Key of Life”, the album mixes his beloved funk with a deliberate 70s style hard rock. As well as featuring long-time collaborator JJ Marsh on guitar, the album includes guest spots from bassist Billy Sheehan and Chickenfoot’s Chad Smith, as well as co-producer Jeff Kollman. ‘Higher Places (Song for Bonzo)’ is a song dedicated to Glenn’s dear friend, Led Zeppelin drummer John Bonham.

Highly Recommended


01 – Big Time
02 – Livin’ For The Minute
03 – Does It Mean That Much To You
04 – Save Me Tonight (I’ll Be Waiting)
05 – Redline
06 – Coffee & Vanilla
07 – Push!
08 – She Loves Your Money
09 – Speak Your Mind
10 – Talkin’ To Messiah
11 – Maybe Your Baby
12 – Holy Man

01 – Death Of Me
02 – Down
03 – Addiction
04 – Madeleine
05 – Talk About It
06 – I’m Not Your Slave
07 – Cover Me
08 – Blue Jade
09 – Justified Man
10 – I Don’t Want To Live That Way Again
11 – Way Back To The Bone (Live)
12 – Touch My Life (Live)
13 – You Fool No One (Live)

01 – The Way It Is
02 – You Kill Me
03 – Neverafter
04 – Rain On Me
05 – Curse
06 – Freedom
07 – The Truth Will Set Me Free
08 – Stoned In The Temple
09 – Too Far Gone
10 – Second Son
11 – Take You Down
12 – Don’t Look Away
13 – Freedom (Shagmeister Mix)

01 – The State I’m In
02 – Midnight Meditated
03 – It’s Alright
04 – Switch The Mojo
05 – Gone
06 – The Other Side Of Me
07 – Angela
08 – Owed To J
09 – This Life
10 – Days Of Avalon

01 – Can’t Stop The Flood
02 – Inside
03 – Out On Me
04 – I Just Want To Celebrate
05 – Don’t Let It Slip Away
06 – Feels Like Home
07 – High Ball Shooter
08 – When You Fall
09 – I Will Follow You
10 – Beyond The Numb
11 – Big Sky
12 – Cosmic Spell (Japan Bonus Track)

01 – In My Blood
02 – Lost In The Zone
03 – Gasoline
04 – Higher Places (Song For Bonzo)
05 – Get You Stoned
06 – Written All Over Your Face
07 – Standing On The Rock
08 – Courageous
09 – The Truth
10 – Wherever You Go
11 – Higher Places (Reprise)
12 – Secret Life (European Bonus Track)
13 – Change (Japan Bonus Track)



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.