STORM FORCE – Age Of Fear (2020)

STORM FORCE - Age Of Fear (2020) full

STORM FORCE is the explosive new band that fans of classic hard melodic rock have all been waiting for. Led by Brighton Rock founder / fleet-fingered guitarist Greg Fraser and featuring one of today’s most powerful and versatile lead vocalists in Patrick Gagliardi, their debut record “Age Of Fear” produced by Darius Szczepaniak combines colossal, crushing melodic rock with hook-laden ballads and massive choruses reminiscent of vintage Cinderella, Van Halen, Skid Row, and of course, Brighton Rock.

Storm Force is really the product of Greg Fraser‘s frustration in not being able to come up and record new music with his long-time Canadian hard rock group Brighton Rock.
Fraser found some musicians who lived nearby in lead vocalist Patrick Gagliardi, drummer Brian Hamilton and bassist Mike Berardelli, and the results are stupendous.

Storm Force have come up with a great mix of melodic rock meets classic rock peppered in with a bit of grit via Gagliardi‘s slightly Jorn like (but less gritty) vocals. I can’t say enough how good Storm Force‘s debut album is.
”Age of Fear” opens up with the very melodic “Because of You” which the group provided a lyric video for. It’s a good song but there is a way better ones once you dig into the record a little further. The title track “Age of Fear” is a heavier number built on a solid guitar riff and highlighted by Gagliardi‘s strong vocals that sets the tone for the rest of the song.

The cream of the crop is likely next with the slower building and very melodic but not wimpy “Breathe” which starts off with Gagliardi handling the first verses before the chorus kicks in. The big surprise is during the second verse when guest female vocalist Serena Pryne starts singing with some heavier keyboards in the background. It really brings the song to a new level and is a real tour de force. Every time I listen to the track, I look forward to that moment when Pryne gets her turn and lifts the song to new heights. Fraser then delivers a great and tasty guitar solo before Gagliardi and Pryne join forces for the chorus.

There’s some other great tracks on ”Age of Fear such” as the raunchier “Dirty Vegas”, the killer ballad “More Than You Know” and the straightforward “Marshall Law.”
There’s strong ballads too. “More Than You Know” really stands out with its great melodies, same with midtempo “Ember Rain” and “Different Roads”. “Ride Like Hell” and “Ringside” round out Storm Force‘s debut record. They are both rockin’ n’ groovin’.

Storm Force have come up with a debut record that transcends many genres. Fans of melodic rock will likely really enjoy the opening track “Because of You”, the ballads and the stand out “Breathe.” Classic metal fans can sink their teeth into tracks like “Ringside”, “Ride Like Hell” and “Marshall Law.” The production for the songs is really good.
Don’t be surprised if ”Age of Fear” ends up on a lot of “best albums” lists at the end of this year.


01 – Because Of You
02 – Age Of Fear
03 – Breathe – Words
04 – Ember Rain
05 – Ride Like Hell
06 – Dirty Vegas
07 – More Than You Know
08 – Marshall Law
09 – Different Roads
10 – Ringside
11 – Weight Of The World

Patrick Gagliardi – lead vocals
Greg Fraser (Brighton Rock) – lead guitars, vocals
Mike Beradelli – bass, vocals
Brian Hamilton (Panik) – drums, vocals
Rein Knol – keyboards
Serena Pryne – vocals on tr. 2, 3



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.