MATS KARLSSON (220 Volt) – The Time Optimist (2019)

MATS KARLSSON (220 Volt) – The Time Optimist (2019) full

Swede MATS KARLSSON, guitarist and songwriter with classic Swedish hard rock act 220 Volt is releasing his first ever solo album titled “The Time Optimist” on December 6th 2019.
The record is a melodic collection of songs that are a bit more laid back than the 220 Volt stuff, and move freely between classic rock, hard rock, singer/songwriter style and some AOR-touches here and there.

Mats asked his brother Ulf to play all keyboards, and gathered some great musician friends to help out including drummer Björn “Grizzly” Höglund (Easy Action, The Summit), drummer Peter Hermansson (220 Volt, Talisman, John Norum), Bass-ace Nalle Påhlsson (Therion, Treat, Easy Action), and also some well-known musicians in Sweden as drummer Mike Ajax, bassist Lars Ericsson (The Summit)
The very first 220 Volt singer Christer “Frille” Åsell, long time friends with Mats, also appears as guest.

“The Time Optimist” consists of 11 tracks in different styles, nine penned by Mats, one by Mats co-written with Höglund, and the album also has a cover of the track “Real Gone” by Sheryl Crow / John Shanks.
There are two duets where Mats shares the lead vocals with singer Swedish singer Jenny Fall, and one with “Frille” Åsell, bringing to mind early 220 Volt.

The term “time optimist” is a Swedish expression referring to a person who is always positive that he / she will achieve a certain amount of work in specified time and often failing.
However Mats didn’t failed here; all these songs are timeless classic rock inspired tunes, recorded in the old-fashioned way. There’s no saturation or compression in the mastering, all feels natural, warm.
Very cool and enjoyable stuff from Karlsson, showcasing a different side from the musician.
Highly Recommended


01 – Bumping Along
02 – A Natural High
03 – Megalo Seitani
04 – I Believe
05 – Stop the World
06 – October 28th
07 – Real Gone
08 – Heather
09 – Daydreamer
10 – Function over Fashion
11 – The Other Side Of Love (Bonus Track)

Mats Karlsson – vocals, guitars
Ulf Karlsson – keyboards
Björn Höglund (Easy Action, The Summit) – drums
Peter Hermansson (220 Volt, Talisman, John Norum) – drums
Mike Ajax – drums
Nalle Påhlsson (Treat, Easy Action) – bass
Lars Ericsson (The Summit) – bass
Jenny Fall – vocal duet
Christer “Frille” Åsell (ex 220 Volt) – vocal duet


Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.