WHITE SPRINGS – White Springs (2019)

WHITE SPRINGS - White Springs (2019) full

Hailing from Helsinki, Finland, WHITE SPRINGS was formed in late 2016 by guitarist Robert Stray & drummer Markus Juntunen, and after several line-up changes the band was completed when singer Kámel joined the group. The guys are releasing today their self titled debut album ‘White Springs’, musically influenced by classic melodic hard rock and 80s AOR.

This bunch of young rockers obviously grew up listening to their parent’s records, both from American / European classic rock acts. Songs like ‘Prisoner of the Past’ or ‘Point of No Return’ have clear ’80s feel from the Scandinavian / German melodic hard rock scene, while ‘Don’t Run Away’ or the keyboard filled midtempo ‘Outlaw’ from the same era, but from USA.
The band attempt to ballads with the AORish ‘One More Chance’, then on ‘Closer to Eternity’ this time acoustically filled with a campfire atmosphere.

While there’s some interesting ideas, White Springs still need to improve things. Production is very indie (managed by themselves), there’s a need of a better song mixing, and vocalist Kámel sometimes gets out of pitch.
Anyway, you never know… sometimes inexpert young bands might surprise in the hands of a proper producer / recording crew.
Check ’em out.


01 – Prisoner of the Past
02 – Everything to Me
03 – Don’t Run Away
04 – That Time of Year
05 – One More Chance
06 – Closer to Eternity
07 – Point of No Return
08 – Stop Fighting Love
09 – Outlaw
10 – Maze

Kámel – Lead Vocals
Robert Stray – Guitars, background vocals
Markus Juntunen – Drums
Samu-Ville Palmu – Keyboard, Synths
Joona Käsnänen – Bass



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.