SHANGHAI – Take Another Bite [band own remaster + 2019 new track]

SHANGHAI – Take Another Bite [band own remaster + 2019 new track] full

Originally only released in Japan, 1991, SHANGHAI debuted with the nine song “Take Another Bite” album, produced / engineered by the great Jeff Cannata and James Christian (House Of Lords), who also sang backing vocals.
For the album’s 25th anniversary there was an expanded reissue (featured on this blog), but now Shanghai are releasing their own remaster with the original artwork plus the bonus track ‘Mutha F’king Rock Star’ which was recorded by original member Tony Childs (guitar) and Jayde (vocals) in 2019 as a tribute to bassist Jodi Reese (RIP).

Hailing from Connecticut, Shanghai appeared a bit too late into the scene but their management secured a contract with a Japanese recording label Teichiku Records for the band’s debut. “Take Another Bite” charted at #19 on the Rock Charts in Japan, alongside Skid Row and Guns N’ Roses new albums.
The song “Please Me Tease Me” was featured in two Hollywood movies — The Amy Fisher Story with Drew Barrymore and Sunset Heat with Dennis Hopper. But the time for this kind of Melodic Rock was starting to fade in the US, and the album never was released outside Japan.

“Take Another Bite” remains unknown for most Melodic Hard Rock fans out there. Shanghai are probably one of the best bands of this style to have come out of the US in 1990-91, driven by loud catchy guitars, big pounding drums, over the top lead vocals and multi-part harmony choruses.
And having Cannata & James Christian behind the desk, expect a huge, polished sound.

These East Coast rollers laced the glam slammin’ effort with several sleazed-out titles, such as “Big & Sleazy”, “Push It In” and “Caught in the Act”.
There’s a catchy melodious rocker in “Please Me Tease Me”, “Love Under Fire” (a’la Firehouse), and a stomping hard rocker akin Steve Steven & Atomic Playboys in “Hot To The Touch”.

SHANGHAI – Take Another Bite [band own remaster + 2019 new track] inside

While new 2019 rockin’ track “Mutha F’king Rock Star” was recently completed, the sound & style is classic late ’80s American hard rock, a fitting tribute to the late bassist Jodi Reese who passed away in 2009.
The music in “Take Another Bite” is a killer, awesome slice of US Melodic Hard Rock with ‘that’ 1991 lush sound, with a darn good n’ catchy sound.
Highly Recommended


01 – Please Me Tease Me
02 – Hot to the Touch
03 – Big & Sleazy
04 – Without Love
05 – Love Under Fire
06 – Caught in the Act
07 – Push It In
08 – Don’t Hide Your Heart
09 – Bad Love
10 – Mutha F’king Rock Star (New Track 2019 – Bonus)

Jayde – Lead Vocals
Tony Childs – Guitar, Backing Vocals
Jodi Reese – Bass, Keyboards, Backing Vocals
Ron Kramer – Drums, Backing Vocals
James Christian (House Of Lords) – Backing Vocals, Co-Producer



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.