MITCH MALLOY – Mitch Malloy [Digitally Remastered +2]

MITCH MALLOY - Mitch Malloy [Digitally Remastered] full

MITCH MALLOY self titled debut as solo artist is one of the best Melodic Rock albums of all time. Period.
Should I end this review here? Well, not so fast.
Some time ago Mitch started a remastering and releasing by himself all his catalog, and the fresh sonic treatment over “Mitch Malloy” – his more celebrated album originally appeared in 1992 – is awesome.

After recording a bunch of songs at the end of the Eighties with friends of all life, RCA was interested, but only in Mitch a solo artist (these recordings were later released as ‘Malloy 88’, already presented on this blog).
RCA invested a lot of money for Mitch Malloy’s debut, hiring top class session musicians to record his ridiculously catchy Melodic Rock anthems.

We have talented Michael Thompson on guitar, maestro C.J. Vanston on keys, Hugh McDonald (later in Bon Jovi) playing bass and gifted Tommy Funderburk doing backing vocals tracks, just to name few.
Not only that: the disc was produced, engineered and mixed by Sir Arthur Payson, which is no other than the pseudonym used by famed AOR guru Desmond Child.

To name some cuts seems unnecessary, as all are true gems.
Just give a listen to the blissful Melodic Rock perfection of “Anything At All”, the dreamy AOR of “Nobody Wins This War” or the soaring “Forever”, which I rate as one of the best AOR Melodic Rock tunes ever.
This album includes two bonuses; “Never Give Up On You” and “Shadow In The Dark” originally appeared in Mitch’s ‘Shine’, an album recorded with low budget and pressures by the label, and now sounds terrific with the remastering treatment.

Speaking about this remaster, Mitch has obtained a brilliant and crisp sound (the original was already great), quite oriented to enhance the warm mid-frequencies. Really dynamic I’d say.
The physical copies of “Mitch Malloy [remastered]” were delayed, there will be an official announcement when available at Malloy’s website, meanwhile you can get it digital at all major retailers.
Needless to say: Mandatory Purchase.


01 – Anything At All
02 – Mission Of Love
03 – Nobody Wins This War
04 – Over The Water
05 – Problem Child
06 – Stranded In The Middle Of Nowhere
07 – Cowboy And The Ballerina
08 – Our Love Will Never Die
09 – Forever
10 – Mirror Mirror
11 – Never Give Up On You
12 – Shadow In The Dark

Mitch Malloy – vocals, guitar
Michael Thompson – guitar
Kevin Dukes – guitar
Hugh McDonald – bass
Mickey Curry – drums
C.J. Vanston – keyboards

Add. Musicians:
Tristan Avakian – guitar
Jai Winding – keyboards
Michael Fisher – percussion
Greg Morrow – drums
Mike Brignardello – bass
Vinnie James – background vocals
Bekka Bramlett – background vocals
Tommy Funderburk – background vocals
Carol Rowley – background vocals
Yvonne Williams – background vocals
Devon Meade – background vocals
Jerry Hey, Gary Grant, Dan Higgins – horns
Produced, engineered and mixed by Desmond Child



You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. alleyrulez says:

    When are the Raven remasters going up?

  2. web browser says:

    What i’ve found in the web:

    Mitch: Arthur Payson is NOT Desmond Child and that rumour pisses me off because Arthur is a very talented man and I was the first artist he produced without Des.

    Thank you for an upload!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.