JASON SCHEFF (ex Chicago) – Here I Am (2019) *EXCLUSIVE*

JASON SCHEFF (ex Chicago) - Here I Am (2019) full

When I read sometime ago that JASON SCHEFF would be releasing a new solo album, I can’t wait. Day has come, and Scheffy is releasing today November 8 his second solo effort “Here I Am”, presented here in exclusive at 0dayrox.
Jason Scheff´s first solo album ‘Chauncy’ was released in 1997 and I loved it. Scheff of course was vocalist & bass player for Chicago between 1985-2016, when he left the band to record “Here I Am”.
And glad he did it; on “Here I Am” he is able to express where here is now musically, and of course, the album is wonderful slice of ’80s inspired AOR.

For fans of Chicago mainstream years, Jason Scheff always will be ‘the vocalist’. While Camplim and other members of the band shared lead vocals too, Scheffy leads where ’80s Chicago trademark.
“Here I Am” has many of that songwriting style and sound, plus the singer own, personal touch.

Of course there’s a lot of special guests on the record, from Alex Lifeson of Rush to Tommy Thayer of KISS, all contributing with their magic.
But it’s Scheff’s exquisite, unique vocal color which steals the show here.
30 years ago “Will You Still Love Me” would have been a hit, title track “Here I Am” bring to my mid the luxury sound of King Of Hearts, while “Look Away” is one of these midtempo semi-ballads that made Chicago famous circa 1987. Awesome tune.

‘Wonderful Day’ will put a big smile on your face; what an uplifting tune, feel-good stuff with Jason vocals crooning like a candy on this upbeat, joyful tune. Same vibe with “Feelin’ Stronger Every Day”, a song with a melodic rock skeleton.
“Never Even Had the Chance” is primo West Coast with an updated sound, and of course Jason is a master of ballads, and “Away” and “If You Only Knew” are true gems in this matter.

For me this is one of the comeback of the year; Jason Scheff is releasing a new solo album after almost twenty years. Near his sixties, Scheffy vocals are intact, and so his songwriting skills. Btw, production is top notch, pristine & clear
Few make albums like this in 2019. Thanks Mr. Jason Scheff, thanks for gorgeous, quality music in 2019.

Only at 0dayrox


01 – Will You Still Love Me
02 – Here I Am
03 – Look Away
04 – Wonderful Day
05 – If You Only Knew
06 – Feelin’ Stronger Every Day
07 – What Kind of Man
08 – Never Even Had the Chance
09 – Hard to Say I’m Sorry
10 – Away

Jason Scheff – vocals, bass, keyboards, guitar
Alex Lifeson of Rush – Acoustic Guitar
Robbie Krieger of The Doors – Slide Guitar
Tommy Thayer of Kiss – Electric Guitars
Pino Palladino – Bass
Bill Champlin – Lead and background vocals
Jay DeMarcus of Rascal Flatts – keyboards, guitars, bass, programming, vocals



You may also like...

6 Responses

  1. Jim says:

    Request Jason Scheff – Chauncy [Japanese Edition] if it is available. Thanks, Jim

  2. Patrick DeCecco says:

    Can’t wait to hear it.Im a big fan.There is very talented musicians on the album.

  3. Ingrid Franke says:

    great review!

  4. Jake says:

    30 years ago “Will You Still Love Me” WAS a hit! (PS: Thanks for sharing this)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.