BLACKTHORNE (Graham Bonnet) – Afterlife [Expanded Edition remastered]

BLACKTHORNE - Afterlife [Expanded Edition remastered] (2016) full

BLACKTHORNE, the early 90s super-group formed by Graham Bonnet (Rainbow /Alcatrazz), Bob Kulick (Balance), Jimmy Waldo (New England / Alcatrazz), Chuck Wright (ex Giuffria / House of Lords) on bass and Fankie Banali (Quiet Riot) on drums will have their only album to date “Afterlife” remastered & expanded released via Hear No Evil / Cherry Red Records.
This is a long awaited re-issue of this out of print album originally appeared on Music For Nations records, featuring extra material.

Produced by talented Bruce Kulick who also contributed some guitar and songwriting, the music on “Afterlife’ is about what you’d expect: hard charging melodic hard rock (we probably would have called it metal in ’93) with the kind of muscular guitar riffs and flashy solos that Nirvana and the rest of the alternative revolutionaries told us we weren’t supposed to enjoy anymore.
This kind of heavy rock is pretty far removed from Kulick’s work in Balance, and I don’t think I’ve ever heard Bonnet cut loose quite like this either. His voice, is the perfect fit for this kind of all out rock fest.

With songwriting collaborations from Autograph’s Steve Plunkett, there’s some terrific tunes here such as ‘Over and Over’, ‘Baby You’re The Blood’, ‘Afterlife’ and my absolute favorite ‘We Won’t Be Forgotten’ a darn catchy song with a melodic chorus to die for.

BLACKTHORNE - Afterlife [Expanded Edition remastered] back

Unknown fo many fans of the genre, this is not strange as Blackthorne’s “Afterlife” appeared in a bad time for this kind of music, and despite the recorded another album the group split before it gets released… but that’s about to change today.

But returning to Blackthorne’s “Afterlife”, this is a really good album that deserve to be listened by all hard rock fans and this fresh reissue it’s the perfect vehicle, including 3 previously unreleased tracks.
Highly Recommended


01. Cradle to the Grave
02. Afterlife
03. We Won’t Be Forgotten
04. Breaking the Chains
05. Over and Over
06. Hard Feelings
07. Baby You’re the Blood
08. Sex Crime
09. Love from the Ashes
10. All Night Long
BONUS TRACKS (previously unreleased):
11. Afterlife (Live Sony Music TV Japan 1993)
12. We Won’t Be Forgotten (Live Sony Music TV Japan 1993)
13. Rehearsal Reel (Live – Studio La December 16th 1993)

Graham Bonnet: lead and backing vocals
Bob Kulick: guitar, backing vocals
Jimmy Waldo: keyboards, backing vocals
Frankie Banali: drums, percussion
Chuck Wright: bass, backing vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.