BLACK LABEL SOCIETY – Nuns And Roaches [Record Store Day Special Release] (2019)

BLACK LABEL SOCIETY - Nuns And Roaches [Record Store Day Special Release] (2019) full

As part of the current ‘Record Store Day Black Friday’ BLACK LABEL SOCIETY are releasing a Special Edition LP limited to 2,000 copies titled “Nuns And Roaches“, including previously unreleased material from 1999’s The Brewtality Lost Sessions.
As extras, you have the Glorious Christmas Songs EP, special for the upcoming holidays.

The songs of “Nuns And Roaches” come from the vaults of Zakk Wylde, recorded after the first Black Label Society album.
The sound & style of these songs possess the distinct bluesy hard rock / southern rock overtone that up to this time had predominated Zakk Wylde’s solo writing style.

As extras we added the ‘Glorious Christmas Songs’ EP appeared some time ago under the Black Label Society banner but in fact it’s Wylde alone with his guitar performing Christmas traditional songs.

Far from being ‘discarded’ material, “Nuns And Roaches” delivers very strong, enjoyable bluesy rocking songs.
Collector’s stuff


01 – The Killing Cross
02 – Peace and Sympathy
03 – Black Pearl (fermented version)
04 – Twisted
05 – White Christmas
06 – Peddlers of Death (alternate version)
extras: Glorious Christmas Songs:
01 – I’ll Be Home For Christmas
02 – O Little Town Of Bethlehem
03 – Wonderful World
04 – The First Noel

Zakk Wylde – vocals, guitars, bass, piano
Phil Ondich – drums
Mike Inez – bass



You may also like...

3 Responses

  1. -= Sisters Of Mercy =- says:

    these record store day releases are the absolute best

  2. melodified says:

    The Killing Cross is one of his best songs!!!

  3. Danny "Deege" Dunford says:

    Mike Inez didn’t play on this. It’s just Zakk and Phil Ondich, and it was recorded at the same time as Sonic Brew, in 1998. These are unreleased outtakes from those sessions, sourced from a cassette tape that Phil had made from the mixing console to listen to in the rental car while driving around Miami during the recording. He found the tape in 2005, and I personally transferred the tape to digital for him using my grandma’s Kenwood cassette deck…the artwork is from joking artwork that Phil hand drew in the studio while Zakk was tracking his parts. I reversed the colors so it had a black background and made a front and back cover, burned a CD, and handed it to Zakk at Ozzfest 2006 in Columbus, Ohio. He must have kept the disc for 13 years, and decided to release it. The sound quality is literally identical to that of the disc I gave him (he doesn’t have the masters to the Sonic Brew album, so if this tape would not have existed, these songs would have been lost forever.)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.