MOTORHEAD – Bomber [40th Anniversary Remaster 2-CD unreleased material] (2019) *EXCLUSIVE*

MOTORHEAD - Bomber [40th Anniversary Remaster 2-CD unreleased material] (2019) full

The early years of MOTORHEAD are getting a celebratory re-visitation for the 40th anniversary of the band’s classic albums Overkill and Bomber. Remember the time when bands released 2 albums the same year, and both good? This deluxe remastered reissue of “Bomber” includes a bonus disc with previously unreleased material.

For Motörhead, 1979 was a vital year that saw the band release two of its heaviest and most definitive albums. Released Oct 27, 1979 – three days ago 40 years! – “Bomber” cemented the band’s toughness.
It was few months before when with ‘Overkill’ the band hit their stride. The title track landed in the UK Top 40 and, after appearing again on Top of the Pops, the Motorhead rapidly returned to the studio that summer with legendary producer Jimmy Miller to record what would become “Bomber”.

Unlike ‘Overkill’, this album doesn’t have the same reputation and it tends to get overlooked, which is a shame as it’s a really good heavy rock record. Not as manic as ‘Overkill’ it still contains hidden gems and some excellent bass playing from Lemmy. There’s 3 bona fide Motorhead classics, namely ‘Stone Dead Forever’, ‘Dead Men Tell No Tales’ and the title track.
Look deeper and unheralded tracks like ‘Sweet Revenge’, and Fast Eddie’s vocals on the bluesy ‘Step Down’ (a Fastway prelude) are excellent, while ‘Poison’ drips with venom from Lemmy’s vocal.

Regarding the bonus disc, it’s a very good one.
‘Live at Le Mans, 3rd November 1979’ was recorded only a week after ‘Bomber’ was officially released, and you can hear the band’s urgency to play these songs live: the set list contains 6 tracks from ‘Bomber’.
A very good sounding recording, almost to the point that you wonder where it has been shelved for 40 years.
It’s great to hear an up-and-coming Motörhead playing these songs when they were still fresh. The Kilminster / Clarke / Taylor line up was really special and there is plenty of fun onstage banter.
Killer classic stuff.

Only at 0dayrox


Disc 1 – Bomber remastered
01 – Dead Men Tell No Tales
02 – Lawman
03 – Sweet Revenge
04 – Sharpshooter
05 – Poison
06 – Stone Dead Forever
07 – All the Aces
08 – Step Down
09 – Talking Head
10 – Bomber

Disc 2 – Live at Le Mans, 3rd November 1979
01 – Overkill
02 – Stay Clean
03 – No Class
04 – Metropolis
05 – All the Aces
06 – Dead Men Tell No Tales
07 – I’ll Be Your Sister
08 – Lawman
09 – Too Late, Too Late
10 – Poison
11 – (I Won’t) Pay Your Price
12 – Sharpshooter
13 – Capricorn
14 – Train Kept A-Rollin’
15 – Bomber
16 – Limb from Limb
17 – White Line Fever
18 – Motörhead

Ian “Lemmy” Kilmister – Vocals, Bass
“Fast” Eddie Clarke – Guitars
Phil “Philthy Animal” Taylor – Drums



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Örjan says:

    First UFO then Motörhead. Lovely!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.