MICK DEVINE (Seven) – Hear Now (2019)

MICK DEVINE (Seven) – Hear Now (2019) full

Hear Now” is the debut solo album by MICK DEVINE, vocalist of UK’s AOR / Melodic rockers Seven (7). Seven suffered from label shenanigans in the early 90s and it was only some years later that they released new music.
Back to the here and now and we have a solo album from Mick, where he is joined Steve Morris (guitars, keyboards) who has worked with Ian Gillan and been a member of Heartland for many years, plus multi-instrumentalist Brian J Anthony (both he and Morris were part of last year’s excellent album from Lonerider).

It is not as keyboard led as the Seven albums, although it comes as no surprise to say that the music is in melodic rock / AOR vein and Mick Devine still has that uncanny knack of sounding like Lou Gramm at times!

We find a bit of a country twang guitar on ‘Hope Rising’, then you have the blissful AOR of ‘Standing In The Middle’. The album covers a variety of styles, which show off Mick Devine’s vocal talents and there are a few tasty guitar solos from Steve Morris (check out ‘Life Is An Open Road’ and ‘Life Goes On’).

An album you will keep coming back to and one to be enjoyed by lovers of finely crafted AOR / melodic rock with a classic feel yet updated production sound.
Highly Recommended


01 – Strange Voices
02 – Live Forever
03 – Home
04 – So Much Better Now
05 – Hope Rising
06 – Standing in the Middle
07 – Life Goes On
08 – Another Way
09 – Life Is an Open Road
10 – Game Over
11 – Promise Me

Mick Devine (Seven) – All vocals
Steve Morris (Lonerider / Heartland) – All Guitars and Keyboards
Brian J Anthony (Steve Walsh / Overland) – Drums, Bass, Guitar, Keyboards
Stefanie Johnson and Brian J Anthony – Backing Vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.