SONS OF APOLLO – Live with The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony (2019) Special Edition

SONS OF APOLLO - Live with The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony (2019) Special Edition full

SONS OF APOLLO are one of the biggest success stories of the past two years. The combination of vocalist Jeff Scott Soto, guitarist Ron ‘Bumblefoot’ Thal, bassist Billy Sheehan, keyboard player Derek Sherinian and drummer Mike Portnoy proved to be irresistible on their debut album ‘Psychotic Symphony’, released in 2017. Now, they are putting out a special live release, captured at the spectacular Roman Amphitheatre in Plovdiv, Bulgaria on September 22 last year: “Live with The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony”.
The band’s performance was divided into two sets, the second of which saw them joined by a full orchestra and choir. There are a number of cover songs performed in both sets.

It was down to Portnoy to choose which tracks were done with the orchestra and choir: “I have to say that all of the covers you’ll get to see us do in the second part of the performance were only done that night and no other on the tour, which helps to make this unique”.
Titled ‘Live With The Plovdiv Psychotic Symphony’, this is to be available on CD, DVD and Blu-ray. But there are differences between the audio and visual formats.

Portnoy says: “The audio CD’s are the only to feature the entire gig. We had problems getting clearance on three of the cover tracks for the Blu-ray and DVD. Sadly, these will not have ‘Comfortably Numb’ from Pink Floyd, ‘Dream On’ (Aerosmith) plus ‘And The Cradle Will Rock’ (Van Halen).
The good thing is that you can hear all of these on the CD, so they’re not forgotten.”

So, what fans will get is a brilliant summary of the first year in the history of this band.
It magnificently captures what happened on the night and the atmosphere that surrounded the occasion, and of course, how incredible Sons Of Apollo are.
Jeff Scott Soto shines, Bumblefoot deliver some stratospheric solos, Sheehan kiils with his double bass guitar, while Portnoy literally smash your senses.


CD 01:
01. God of the Sun
02. Signs of the Time
03. Divine Addiction
04. That Metal Show Theme
05. Just Let Me Breathe (Dream Theater cover)
06. Billy Sheehan Bass Solo
07. Lost in Oblivion
08. Jeff Scott Soto Solo Spot (The Prophet’s Song / Save Me)
09. Alive
10. The Pink Panther Theme (Henry Mancini cover)
11. Opus Maximus

CD 02:
01. Kashmir (Led Zeppelin cover)
02. Gates of Babylon (Rainbow cover)
03. Labyrinth
04. Dream On (Aerosmith cover)
05. Diary of a Madman (Ozzy Osbourne cover)
06. Comfortably Numb (Pink Floyd cover)
07. The Show Must Go On (Queen cover)
08. Hell’s Kitchen (Dream Theater cover)
09. Derek Sherinian Keyboard Solo
10. Lines in the Sand (Dream Theater cover)

CD 03:
01. Bumblefoot Guitar Spot
02. And the Cradle Will Rock (Van Halen cover)
03. Coming Home

Jeff Scott Soto (vocals, W.E.T. / ex-Talisman / ex-Journey)
Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal (guitar, ex-Guns N’ Roses)
Billy Sheehan (bass, The Winery Dogs / Mr. Big)
Mike Portnoy (drums, The Winery Dogs / ex-Dream Theater)
Derek Sherinian (keyboards, Black Country Communion)



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.