MARK BAKER – The Future Ain’t What It Used To Be (2019)

MARK BAKER - The Future Ain't What It Used To Be (2019) full
*Please Read Comments* 

Titled “The Future Ain’t What It Used To Be”, this album is a compilation of MARK BAKER’s songwriter demos from the 80s and 90s, featuring various singers, including Mark Free (Signal, King Kobra), James Christian (House Of Lords) and Bill Champlin (Chicago). The tracks come from DAT tapes which have been remastered by JK Northrup.
The name Mark Baker may not be immediately recognizable to many, but he is the man behind the classic Signal ‘Loud & Clear’ album as well as many other songs for the likes of .38 Special, Triumph and Boulevard. He was also the main co-writer on House Of Lords’ ‘Demons Down’ album.

Mark Free shows his singing prowess on ‘Someday You’re Gonna Love Someone’ (also track down the Snake Charmer album with this one where Goran Edman is the vocalist), an 80’s movie soundtrack tune if ever there was one in ‘Superhero’ and ‘Nobody Gets Out Alive’, a song to crank up on a warm summer’s day. All the songs featuring Mark Free on here will delight fans of his singing.

Then we have the songs featuring James Christian including ‘Demons Down’ from the House Of Lords album of the same name, plus a couple off his ‘Rude Awakening’ album – ‘Cold Day In Hell’ and ‘Better Days’. The latter one of James Christian’s best solo songs in my book.

Also on the album are an Alias song ‘X T C O I’ with Freddy Curci on vocals and a real AOR treat on ‘Dream On Little Dreamer’, featuring Bill Champlin. This one would have been all over the airwaves back in the day.

This is pretty damn essential listening for lovers of 80s melodic rock, especially if you have the Signal album or any of the first three House Of Lords albums in your collection.
The sound on these songs is certainly better quality than you would be expecting given that these are demos.


01 – Nobody Gets Out Alive (Mark Free)
02 – The Future Ain’t What It Used To Be (Mark Free)
03 – Demons Down (Demo Version) (James Christian)
04 – No Pleasure Without The Pain (Demo) (James Christian)
05 – Someday You’re Gonna Love Someone (Mark Free)
06 – A Little Too Much (Mark Free)
07 – First To Cry (Mark Free)
08 – What Did You Do (Mark Free)
09 – Nothin’ (Mark Free)
10 – Dream On Little Dreamer (Bill Champlin)
11 – Give A Little (Vocalsist Unknown)
12 – Cold Day In Hell (James Christian)
13 – Questions Of The Heart (Gary O)
14 – Brighter Day (James Christian)
15 – Only Young (Vocalist Unknown)
16 – Runaway (Mark Free)
17 – Superhero (Mark Free)
18 – X T C O I (Freddy Curci)



You may also like...

10 Responses

  1. Andrew McNeice says:

    Get my titles off your asshole blog you thriving prick.
    I’m coming for you. Fucking bastard.

  2. Andrew McNeice says:

    Listen up cunt face. I won’t stop until you’re out of business if you don’t stop putting my titles on your pirate shitty blog.

  3. BadBoy from BRAZIL says:

    Mr. Andrew McNeice is the SUPERMAN from AUSTRALIA!!! 🙂 He was always so stupid and pathetic at the same time… 🙂 Laughter!!! Laughter!!! Laughter!!!

  4. Anonymous says:

    That’s a pity. I use this website to download and listen to the full albums before buying them. If I can’t listen to them, I won’t buy them. So the probably lost one sale this way…

  5. Homer says:

    he has all the rights to ask a removal… however, you don’t need to be dick… what’s that language? and you are running a website?

  6. Jacen says:

    McNiece is an arrogant jerk. You like what he likes and agree or you’re banned and a troublemaker.

  7. Jacen says:

    I also have emails showing that Andrew McNiece has been trading music (new, old, unrekeased) for more than a decade. This includes new and upcoming releases from Escape, Frontiers, Now & Then (back in the day), and I have all the evidence to prove it. So it would behoove Andrew to stop harassing the site. It’s hypocritical.

  8. Southern Rocker says:

    What is the difference between ripping a Youtube show and placing it in an exclusive download paid area of ​​a particular site, and what does 0dayrox do?

  9. chaz says:

    This dickbrain can go cry a river, and he can’t even be polite. Available elsewhere so he can go suck his dick!

  10. Rosa Lee says:

    Actually think Andrew McNeice is more than justified as this isn’t the first time his record label and artists music has been on this site and you’re getting it for free. Picture this – someone walks into your house and takes one of your CDs – they have that music for free even though you paid for it – you’d be pissed off, well so is he as this is available to the whole world. I can understand wanting stuff that has been deleted but here the whole world can have music just about to be or has just been released and that’s not helping the music scene we all love so much. You can justify it any way you want it’s only going to end in another label packing up and less great music to listen to…and to say you want to hear the full album before buying is nonsense – if there is one thing the internet is good at is listen before you buy. There is plenty on Andrew McNeices website ( and YouTube. Just think about starting your own label and then think about this type of site. You wouldnt bother would you so give the guy a break. No doubt this message will get a load of abuse but that’s fine, it’s what I expect.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.