FM – Tough It Out [Rock Candy remaster +5]

FM - Tough It Out [Rock Candy remaster +5] full

Originally appeared in 1989, the glorious year for Melodic Rock / AOR music, “Tough It Out” was the second album by FM, now greatly remastered by Rock Candy Records plus five bonus tracks.
Their debut album, ‘Indiscreet’, set the scene perfectly. This was a British band with their eyes set firmly on the American market, playing music equal to, if not superior, than masters of the craft such as Foreigner, Journey and Survivor.

That they had not earned a significant sales foothold was shocking but it only fueled their resolve to come back out swinging with their sophomore album, the stoically titled “Tough It Out”.
This time around they were taking no chances. Arming themselves with new management (REO Speedwagon’s representative) a top notch producer in Neil Kernon and topping off their determination by collaborating with some of the best songwriters of the day (including Desmond Child) they constructed an album of serious potential.

FM - Tough It Out [Rock Candy remaster +5] booklet

Originally issued in 1989, “Tough It Out” takes all the excitement of their first album and infuses it with top class production and an energy that suggested they weren’t going to take any prisoners.
Mixed by Nigel Green (Def Leppard), the album contains eleven stunning slices of melodic AOR including such crowd pleasers as “Don’t Stop”, “Bad Luck”, “Burning My Heart Down” and “Someday (You’ll Come Running)”.

As always, Steve Overland must be credited for his superlative performance – outstanding vocals that turn quality songs into exploding supernovas of melody and sophistication.
The end result is truly, one of the greatest AOR albums of all time.

FM - Tough It Out [Rock Candy remaster +5] back

This Rock Candy 24-bit digital remastering from the original source tapes is bright, well balanced, plus 5 bonus tracks originally appeared as b-sides, including the rare and really hard to find “Everytime We Touch”.
A Must Have


01 – Tough It Out
02 – Don’t Stop
03 – Bad Luck
04 – Someday (You’ll Come Running)
05 – Everytime I Think Of You
06 – Burning My Heart Down
07 – The Dream That Died
08 – Obsession
09 – Can You Hear Me Calling?
10 – Does It Feel Like Love?
11 – Feels So Good
12 – Hurt Is Where The Heart Is
13 – This Could Be The Last Time
14 – Someday [Extended Version]
15 – Alibi
16 – Everytime We Touch

Steve Overland: lead vocals, guitar
Chris Overland: guitar
Merv Goldsworthy: bass, backing vocals
Didge Digital: keyboards
Pete Jupp: drums, backing vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.