ZION KNIGHT – Zion Knight [Previously Unreleased / Remastered] (2019) *EXCLUSIVE*

ZION KNIGHT - Zion Knight [Previously Unreleased / Remastered] (2019) *EXCLUSIVE* full

Here we have in exclusive at 0dayrox the release for the first time on CD of ZION KNIGHT’s self-titled album, “Zion Knight”, digitally remastered. This US band featuring the singer of Pomp AOR heroes MPG recorded this blend of Hard Rockin’ AOR tunes in the second half of the 80s, never officially released – only some promo cassette surfaced – that will delight fans of the genre.

Zion Knight born in the mid-Eighties influenced by the American hard rock sound from the era. Founded by songwriter / vocalist David Mikeal – previously part of major label act MPG and various projects in this musical vein – he infused to the Zion Knight’s style a pretty original touch.
While the typical hard rock song structure at the time was based on guitar riffs, the music on “Zion Knight” is focused on melody development combining all instruments to create the musical palette.

ZION KNIGHT - Zion Knight [Previously Unreleased / Remastered] (2019) banner

We find a very interesting guitar/ keyboard interplay, then rhythm section is varied, flexible, always based on 4/4 of course – this is basically hard rock / AOR and you need catchiness – yet avoiding common patterns.

Mikeal’s vocal color recalls Mike Reno (Loverboy) at places, sometimes Eric Martin, smooth but powerful as half the tracks here are really uptempo, punchy I’d said.

ZION KNIGHT - Zion Knight [Previously Unreleased / Remastered] (2019) back

Production / soundwise I would tag “Zion Knight” as ‘Rockin’ AOR’, and while these songs were recorded by the band itself to get a record deal, the quality is pretty good. All professionally recorded at a 24-track studio facility.
It’s a shame Zion Knight never got signed, the material / songwriting / performances here are really strong, fortunately now rescued from a dusty shelf and appearing for the first time on CD, cleaned and remastered.
A lost, tasteful slice of ’80s American hard rock / AOR music. Limited edition of 500 copies.

only at 0dayrox


01 – The Warrior
02 – Maiden Voyage
03 – Spellbound
04 – Cry Of The Dove
05 – Rock Rules The Knight
06 – Lady Of My Dreams
07 – Sweet Searcher
08 – Bad Disposition

David Mikeal – vocals, bass, keyboards
Roderick Gray-Lewis – guitars
Chip Micronus – drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.