TERAMAZE – Are We Soldiers (2019)

TERAMAZE - Are We Soldiers (2019) full

Really good Australian melodic progressive metal band TERAMAZE returns with their new album “Are We Soldiers“, a riff driven collection of songs with unexpected twists and at the same time, darn catchy.
Right from the off you can tell this band offer a level of quality few possess, there’s an ’80s quality to their sound, gritty guitars with intricate solo work and blistering runs around the backbones to the songs and that’s even before you reach the solos.

The opening track ‘Fight Or Flight’ is a perfect example of what Teramaze are all about, a sonic journey like no other, hefty riffs, serious guitar chops, melodic and catchy with subtle piano work in the bridge all wrapped up in head-banging madness! What’s not to love…
This Australian Prog package doesn’t like to be put in any one particular box, Rock, Metal, Pop, Prog, they have it all at the tips of their fingers and aren’t afraid to use it in their arsenal when recording their latest album.

There are glorious guitar rhythms throughout the album as a backbone to each song, which just engrosses you as you flow through this quality recording. Vocalist Brett Rerekura returns to the band once again and has a voice of real quality, meshing perfectly with the gnarly, gritty guitar work providing a perfectly balanced contrast between the hefty and the easy on the ear quality of the songwriting.
Each track just consumes you, the brutal guitar work sounds savage and potent, stick on the headphones and crank up the volume to fully appreciate the behemoth work going on whilst the softer vocal delivery disguises the animalistic underbelly of Teramaze, luring you into a false sense of security, Are We Soldiers will challenge the senses.

A seriously meaty album with 10 tracks around the five minute mark (and one just under 12 minutes long), you’d better be in for the long haul, but believe me, it’s worth the ride.
This isn’t a Prog-fest by any means, it’s a fantastic Rock / Metal album that will fit in anyone’s collection, with the melody as focus
A real powerful contender for progressive album of year here.
Highly Recommended


01 Fight Or Flight
02 Are We Soldiers
03 Control Conquer Collide
04 From Saviour to Assassin
05 Orwellian Times
06 O.N.S.T.E.R.S.
07 Weight Of Humanity
08 Fact Resistant Human
09 The One Percent Disarm
10 Depopulate

Dean Wells – Guitars / Vocals
Brett Rerekura – Lead Vocals
Jonah Weingarten – Keys
Andrew Cameron – Bass
Nick Ross – Drums


Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.