PAT McMANUS – Rewind (2019)

PAT McMANUS - Rewind (2019) full

Irish rock guitar icon ‘Professor’ PAT McMANUS is known for being the main man of the legendary ’80s – ’90s hard rock band MAMA’S BOYS, however Pat has been fronting his own band for more than twenty years now. Currently touring all over Europe with electrifying shows, MacManus took the time to release this “Rewind”, a new solo album featuring songs from his formative years, entirely arranged and performed by himself.

On “Rewind” McManus delivers fourteen dynamic songs where he mostly play acoustic guitar, demonstrating he’s master at the nylon strings as well. His vocals are wide open, finding room to express a different color in this ‘less electricity’ environment.
Pat also plays violin – he’s a skilled performer – used here in the arrangements with that characteristic Celtic touch that is part of his musical ADN. On ‘My Way Home’ the violin lines alongside the guitar layers and the multi-part vocal harmonies creates a magic aura.

“Don’t Tell Mama” is a rocking camp fire type of song that you can imagine as well on stage with the amps cranked to ten. It brings to mind The Eagles.
“Rough Diamond” makes justice to its title, “Runaway Dreams” recalls the wonderful Plant / Page works, “Cathedral” is a haunting slow song, then “Walking In The Shadow Of Giants” is another rocker, fun and enjoyable.

The new version of “Belfast Boy” – originally done with The Pat McManus Band for their album ‘Dark Emerald Highway’ is a highlight. The song was written / dedicated to Gary Moore, and now with the ‘Irish traditional’ arrangements it sounds even more emotional.
“Rewind” is the kind of album you enjoy anytime. It works with a beer at hand, while driving, or as background music.
Pat McManus does everything right, not in vain he’s called ‘The Professor’.
Highly Recommended


01 – Letting Go
02 – My Way Home
03 – Dont Tell Mama
04 – Rough Diamond
05 – Bubble
06 – Needle In The Groove
07 – Return Of The G Man
08 – Runaway Dreams
09 – Sean Na Ghar Glanad
10 – Cathedral
11 – Walking In The Shadow Of Giants
12 – One Last Chance
13 – Belfast Boy
14 – Session Reels

Pat MacManus – vocals, guitar, bass, violin, percussion



You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Me says:

    Yeahhhh MAMAS BOYS

Leave a Reply to Me Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.