DANNY VAUGHN – Myths, Legends And Lies (2019)

DANNY VAUGHN - Myths, Legends And Lies (2019) full

“Myths, Legends and Lies” is the solo album DANNY VAUGHN has always wanted to make. Though best-known as the frontman of Tyketto, Danny’s solo project showcases his range and talents as singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and storyteller. He is aided by Tyketto bandmate Chris Childs on bass, drummer Rhys Morgan and keyboardist Nigel Hopkins. They all add their musical talents to the album.

“Myths, Legends and Lies” is fascinating album, not only musically, but also because it isn’t what you expect from Tyketto’s singer. And in this case, the latter is a good thing.
You will hear the influences of all his musical backgrounds, from rock n’ roll to folk, soul and blues. 14 tracks of outstanding quality written from the heart, and very well recorded / produced.
‘The Shadow Of The King’ kicks proceedings off in fine style with a Celtic folk drive, whilst ‘Man Or Machine’ and the funky ‘Monkeys With Money and Guns’ allows Danny to vent his anger at modern life.

‘The Missouri Kid’ taps into a bit of country, complete with harmony vocals beloved of bands like The Eagles (the latter not surprising given that Danny was a member of the Ultimate Eagles until recently). This song really shows off his vocals to great effect, a singer who has perhaps seen his vocals get stronger with age similar to say Paul Rodgers.

The two stand outs for me are the dark menace on ‘Black Crow’ and the life’s journey advice in classic rocker ‘Point The Way’, both from the acoustic side of his music.
Meanwhile on ‘The Good Life’ drummer Rhys Morgan lays down a groove filled beat, with a lovely bit of Hammond playing and a gospel fade out at the end, impressive stuff.
‘Deep Water’ has some soul on it, impregnated with a timeless rock feeling.

“Myths, Legends and Lies” definitely showcases other side from talented Danny Vaughn, and I’m glad he exposed it all over these 14 – all good – tracks.
Highly Recommended


01 – The Shadow of King John
02 – Man or Machine
03 – The Missouri Kid
04 – The Good Life
05 – Last Ride of the Sunset Men
06 – Black Crow
07 – Monkeys with Money and Guns
08 – Point the Way
09 – Deep Water
10 – Kelly’s Gone
11 – Something I Picked up Along the Way
12 – Time out of Mind
13 – Seven Bells
14 – What You Left Behind

Danny Vaughn (Tyketto) – vocals, guitar, keyboards
Chris Childs (Tyketto) – bass
Rhys Morgan – drums
Nigel Hopkins – keyboards



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.