ANGELES – Time Of Truth (Special Edition) (2019)

ANGELES - Time Of Truth (Special Edition) (2019) full

“Time Of Truth” is the just released new album by veteran hard rockers ANGELES, one of the most long-lasting indie US rock bands out there. These guys recorded several albums, played countless gigs and shared stages with the greats. All-original rock band Angeles first started playing Hollywood, CA in the early ’80s and has shared the stage with legends such as Motley Crue, Quiet Riot, Gun’s N’ Roses, Ratt, Ronnie James Dio, Bon Jovi, Michael Schenker, Dokken, just to name few.
The band has played live extensively and hit quite a few milestones.

Angeles received their first Platinum record award in 2014 for their debut “We’re No Angles” (originally released in 1984) that has been played on nationwide radio stations, and play an Annual benefit show Thunder on the lot for children’s charity.
In 2016 Angeles released their “Crazy” CD featuring their single “God Country and King”, with its video hitting over 1 million views on Vevo.
As you see, Angeles is an independent band, but with a strong cult following since 30+ years.

Listening to “Time Of Truth” it’s like living between 1984 – 1988 again. The band still play the Californian club circuit, even they are The Whikey A Go Go regulars. Angeles perform from the heart and refuse to give up their love of this type of music.
This is melodic glammy hard rock, with some hair metal on it.

From the start with ‘Pain’ – a mix of Y&T with Quiet Riot – the driving guitars and vocal style takes you back to the glory days of the genre. On ‘Not Here to Play’ there’s a feel-good vibe, this being this an uptempo rocker with some Twisted Sister influences. You have a solid rhythm section with defined bass / drums, fine vocals and cool guitar riffs.
‘Hollywood’ sounds like a Motley Crue circa Dr. Feelgood, ‘Goodbye’ is a pure melodic hard rocker with a semi-ballad tempo on it, so common in 1988. ‘Trouble’ returns to uptempo hard rock with its little Keel riffs, ‘We’re No Angels’ adds a bit of sleazy, then ‘Are You Ready for Your Sins’ adds a bluesy backbone for meaty rocker

Angeles still live like if the ’80s never ended. They use leather jackets, wigs, wasted boots and play the music they love without a record label / executives interference.
“Time Of Truth” is effective, entertaining and very well recorded / produced for an indie / self managd product. It’s classic US glammy hard rock / melodic hard rock with a bit a sleazy, made 2019 but with the feel & sound of the golden era.
Highly Recommended


01 – Pain
02 – Not Here to Play
03 – Hollywood
04 – Trouble
05 – Goodbye
06 – We’re No Angels
07 – Are You Ready for Your Sins
08 – Lonely Road
09 – Band Plays On
10 – Shiver Me Timbers
11 – God, Country and King

Daniel Ferreira -Vocals
Dale Lytle – Guitar
Cal Shelton – Bass
Danny Basulto – Drums



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.