soulblivion – Heart & Soul (2019)

soulblivion - Heart & Soul (2019) full

soulblivion (no capitals in their name) is a new Swedish melodic rock / AOR band who has just released their debut “Heart & Soul”, a five-piece formed by experienced musicians from the genre. There’s talented guitarist Sven Larsson (Street Talk / Lionville / Raintimes & many more) and versatile vocalist H.B. Anderson who has been part of diverse acts from melodic rockers Token to metallic hard rockers Fatal Smile.

soulblivion’s music is inspired by the classic Scandinavian melodic rock style from the ’80s and ’90s, and a touch of timeless classic rock with an organic sound.
Recorded at SleepyTown Recordings and Vox On The Rox Studios in Sweden in the old-fashioned way, and trying to replicate that ‘analog tape’ vibe, “Heart & Soul” is indeed music from the heart, and soulful.

Songs like ‘Good Enough’ brings to my mind the early Goran Edman fronted Street Talk works plenty of melody and sweet choruses, then on the darker midtempo ‘Hey God?’ I hear reminiscences of Snake Charmer and why not, Moritz.
All are varied, solid songs where Larsson’s guitar riffs and solos are the star, while Anderson’s smooth vocals are really well complemented by all members’ harmony vocals.

soulblivion - Heart & Soul (2019) inside

There’s some demos as well (fine sound) and as extra, the rare H.B. Anderson’s 90s band Fire & Ice only 2-sided single, both very cool melodic rock songs, a collectible.
A strong and promising debut from soulblivion, we need a full length album pronto.
Highly Recommended

01 – Till Love Do Us Part
02 – Good Enough
03 – Feel
04 – Hey God?
05 – Where Love Has Found a Home
06 – Out Of The Blue (demo)
07 – Twist of Faith (demo)
08 – Mama (demo)
Fire & Ice “One More Try” (Sweden only single 1995):
09 – One More Try
10 – Right Between The Eyes

H.B. Anderson (Fatal Smile, Token, Fire & Ice) – Lead vocals, acoustic guitar
Sven Larsson (Street Talk, Lionville, Raintimes) – Guitar, Backing vocals
Ola Hellström (Sad But True, Fire & Ice) – Bass, Backing vocals
Marcus Losbjer (Wolverine) – Drums, Backing vocals
Daniel Karlsson (Inside Information) – Keyboards, Backing vocals


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.