CROSSFADE (Goran Edman) – Carousel (2019)

CROSSFADE (Goran Edman) - Carousel (2019) full

Following the success of the first two albums, Swedish outfit CROSSFADE are now releasing a trilogy of albums in annual succession starting with “Carousel” that will later be followed by ‘Innocent Days’ and ‘Falling Upwards’. The core of the band remains with Göran Edman (vocals), Lars Hallbäck (guitars) and Richard Stenström (keyboards).
The new blood is brought in by Felix Lehrmann on drums (Roine Stolt, Flower Kings) and Johan Granström on bass.

The music is still very much Crossfade, a mix of West Coast AOR (with some Toto and Street Talk on it) and Classic Rock sound brought into the 21st century. A musical brew that has the easily recognizable sound of Crossfade with spicy flavors of influences from the past and present.

On “Carousel” you’ll be met by lush harmonies, lavish keyboards and Hallbäck signature guitar sound, a mix of Steve Lukather and Peter Friestedt. Add to this the incredible vocals by Göran Edman, ranging all the way from dynamic and nuanced up to massive choirs.

The album only includes five songs, but all quite long (‘Dancing in the Moonlight’ clocks over 9 minutes) but don’t worry, the band didn’t digress to innecessary notes or passages. Everything is made with gusto and honestly, you don’t want tha songs end.
And man, Mr. Edman… he’s better and better with age. His singing, emotive phrasing is a pleasure all over the CD.

CROSSFADE (Goran Edman) - Carousel (2019) back

It took to Crossfade 8 years to deliver new material. Obviously they craft their art meticulously, and results are superb. Fortunately ‘Carousel’ is the first part of three, and all the material has been already recorded.
Let’s wait for these, but meanwhile enjoy every melody and detailed arrangement from ‘Carousel’, one of these albums where you discover something new with each listen, and you never get tired to spin it again.
Class and elegance.
HIGHLY Recommended

01 – Carousel
02 – Taking Me Home
03 – Let the Sunshine In
04 – Dancing in the Moonlight
05 – Love of Mine

Lead Vocals: Goran Edman
Guitars: Lars Hallback
Keyboards: Richard Stenstrom
Drums: Felix Lehrmann
Bass: Johan Granstrom
Percussion: Andreas Ekstedt
Background vocals: Anneli Axon


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.