A NEW REVENGE – Enemies & Lovers [Japan Edition +1] (2019)

BLACK ACES - Shot In The Dark [European CD version +3] (2016) full

LA-based super-group A NEW REVENGE will release their debut album ‘Enemies & Lovers’ on March 29th, tomorrow in Japan with an exclusive bonus track.
An all-star line up of classic hard rock veterans, A New Revenge includes Keri Kelli (Slash’s SnakePit, Alice Cooper, Vince Neil Band), Rudy Sarzo (Ozzy Osbourne, Dio, Whitesnake, Quiet Riot), James Kottak (Scorpions, Warrant, Kingdom Come) and vocalist Tim ‘Ripper’ Owens (Judas Priest, Iced Earth, Yngwie Malmsteen)

The eleven songs recorded here are a treat for ears of hard rock fans. A positive vibe, an ease and great hooks, that’s what this album is all about. While inspired by the traditional style of the genre, what surprises is the modern and dynamic sound of the album.
Opener “The Distance Between” starts with a slow modern riff and slowly builds up from there. The chorus is pretty good and Ripper howls at the end of it with his characteristic power.

“The Way” has a heavier approach on melody, “Never Let You Go”, “Fallen” and the title track are also melodious yet mot modern in its execution.
Then the most commercial, radio friendly track on the CD arrive with “Glorious”, some kind of mix between late ’80s Alice Cooper and poppy Bon Jovi. Similar to this catchy approach are tracks like “The Eyes” and “Here’s To Us”.
Closer “Scars”, however, is heavier, and quite dark.

A NEW REVENGE - Enemies & Lovers [Japan Edition +1] (2019) inside

A NEW REVENGE ‘s ‘Enemies & Lovers’ delivers some stupendous musicianship. Aside from Kottak who only plays it safe (to keep the songs easy to follow) throughout the whole album, Kelli, Ripper and especially Sarzo do a great job in terms of individual performances. I wouldn’t expect any less, though, as these are well-seasoned musicians with plenty of craftsmanship.
On the other hand, while there’s strong songs on this debut, I think the songwriting isn’t that consistent. I mean, I was expecting more memorable scales, choruses, etc. This is a fine album, but a grower.
Strongly Recommended

01 – The Distance Between
02 – The Way
03 – Never Let You Go
04 – Glorious
05 – The Eyes
06 – Fallen
07 – Only The Pretty Ones
08 – Enemies & Lovers
09 – Here’s To Us
10 – Scars
11 – Killing You

Tim ‘Ripper’ Owens – Vocals (Judas Priest, Iced Earth, Yngwie Malmsteen)
Keri Kelli – Guitars (Slash’s Snake Pit, Alice Cooper, Vince Neil Band)
Rudy Sarzo – Bass (Ozzy Osbourne, Dio, Whitesnake)
James Kottak – Drums (Scorpions, Warrant, Kingdom Come)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.