WEST BOUND – Volume 1 [Japan Edition +1] (2019)

WEST BOUND - Volume 1 [Japan Edition +1] (2019) full

To be released in Europe by Frontiers Music Feb, 22th, and tomorrow this Japan Edition with a bonus track, “Volume 1” is the debit CD by WEST BOUND is, the hard-hitting new rock band formed in the Los Angeles area by vocalist Chas West (RESURRECTION KINGS, BONHAM, LYNCH MOB) and renowned guitarist / producer Roy Z (BRUCE DICKINSON, HALFORD, TRIBE OF GYPSIES), with a lineup completed by Jimmy Burkard (guitar), Jason Cornwell (bass) and Dave “Chilli” Moreno (drums).
Additionally, Stephen LeBlanc provides keyboards on the album and Brian Tichy (ex-WHITESNAKE, OZZY OSBOURNE, FOREIGNER drummer / guitarist) played on and co-wrote two songs with Chas.

If you remember the great bluesy hard rock explosion from the late ’80s and early ’90s with bands like TESLA, CINDERELLA, BADLANDS, TORA TORA and SALTY DOG and enjoy the modern throwback hard rock like INGLORIOUS and the like, you are going to find WEST BOUND right up your alley.
With “Volume 1” WEST BOUND offers up its take on that classy hard rock sound with soulful vocals, bluesy riffs & solos, and killer melodies.

“Volume 1” is loaded with songs that bleed attitude and emotion. I have to say when it comes to belting out Hard Rock bluesy based rockers, Chas West’s vocals perfectly fits the genre like a glove.
The dual guitar attack of Roy Z. and Jimmy Burkard make for a lethal six string combination, while the rhythm section of Moreno and Cornwell give the band a rock-solid foundation.

There is a freshness and spark to the songs that give them a magical type quality when the music is coming out of your speakers. Stand out tracks for me on the album are the riff oriented drive of “Never Surrender”, the AOrish feel of “Beautiful Dream”, and the hard rocking “Keeper Of The Flame”.
Also among the highlights there’s the killer, Whitesnake meets Black Star Riders “No Room For Sympathy”, and the impressive midtempo “Traveler” with its mysterious Zepp atmosphere.

WEST BOUND - Volume 1 [Japan Edition +1] (2019) back

But make no mistake, all songs on “Volume 1” are very good, from a band binging back the ‘true’ hard rock essence of the ’80s. Indeed, WEST BOUND, alongside LAST IN LINE, VANDENBERG MOONKINGS, BURNING RAIN, etc, captures the bluesy-based hard rock pulse like few, and I only hope there’s a Volume 2 in the making.

01. Never Surrender
02. Dance Of Life
03. Ain’t Gonna Drown
04. Beautiful Dream
05. Nothing
06. Roll The Bones
07. On My Own
08. Keeper Of The Flame
09. Turn To You
10. No Room For Sympathy
11. The Traveller
12. Beautiful Dream (Acoustic)

Vocals – Chas West (Resurrection Kings, Bonham, Lynch Mob, etc.)
Guitars – Roy Z (Bruce Dickinson, Halford, Tribe of Gypsies)
Guitars – Jimmy Burkard
Bass – Jason Cornwell
Drums – Dave ” Chilli ” Moreno
Stephen Leblanc – Keyboards


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.