MEGADETH – The World Needs A Hero / The System Has Failed [remastered + bonus] (2019)

MEGADETH - The World Needs A Hero / The System Has Failed [remastered + bonus] (2019) full

As the band continues work on its 16th studio album, MEGADETH are set to revisit the past tomorrow. The thrash metal legends are releasing remastered reissues of 2001’s ‘The World Needs a Hero‘ and 2004’s ‘The System Has Failed‘ on CD, vinyl, and digital services via BMG. Both albums, originally released by Sanctuary Records, have been out of print on CD for the past five years and neither have been available on vinyl LP in the United States.

‘The World Needs A Hero’ was touted at the time as Megadeth’s return to their thrashier roots after a few albums that found the band slowing down their sound and aiming for a more mainstream rock audience.
It received positive reviews across the music press and it gained comparison to the bands classic albums Rust In Peace and Countdown To Extinction. It features great guitarist Al Pitrelli (Danger Danger, Alice Cooper) performing solos.
The album has been remastered for this re-release by Ted Jensen (Guns N’ Roses) and, on the CD and digital versions, includes “Coming Home”, a bonus track previously only available on the Japanese edition of the record.

That album’s follow up, ‘The System Has Failed’, followed in its sonic footsteps. Originally intended to be a solo venture for Mustaine, the record was eventually released under Megadeth’s name to fulfill contractual obligations with Sanctuary.
It was also the first album by the group to not feature the bass playing of co-founder David Ellefson. At the time, he and Mustaine were locked in a legal dispute over royalties and the rights to the band’s name. (They’ve since reconciled and Ellefson returned to the band in 2010.)

Instead of putting together a new line up for the band, Mustaine used session musicians for ‘The System Has Failed’, including talented drummer Vinnie Colaiuta and former Megadeth guitarist Chris Poland.
That didn’t dim fans’ interest in the record as ‘The System Has Failed’ debuted in the Top 20 of Billboard’s album chart and received positive critical notices across the board stating it as vital and solid.
Jensen also took on the new remaster of this one and the CD and digital releases will feature a pair of bonus tracks: live versions of “Time / Use The Man” and “Conjuring.”

The World Needs a Hero (2019 – Remaster)
01 – Disconnect (2019 – Remaster)
02 – The World Needs a Hero (2019 – Remaster)
03 – Moto Psycho (2019 – Remaster)
04 – 1000 Times Goodbye (2019 – Remaster)
05 – Burning Bridges (2019 – Remaster)
06 – Promises (2019 – Remaster)
07 – Recipe for Hate… Warhorse (2019 – Remaster)
08 – Losing My Senses (2019 – Remaster)
09 – Dread and the Fugitive Mind (2019 – Remaster)
10 – Silent Scorn (2019 – Remaster)
11 – Return to Hangar (2019 – Remaster)
12 – When (2019 – Remaster)
13 – Coming Home (original Japan Bonus Track)

Dave Mustaine – lead guitar, rhythm guitar, lead vocals
David Ellefson – bass guitar, backing vocals
Jimmy DeGrasso – drums
Al Pitrelli – lead guitar, rhythm guitar, backing vocal

The System Has Failed (2019 – Remaster)
01 – Blackmail the Universe (2019 – Remaster)
02 – Die Dead Enough (2019 – Remaster)
03 – Kick the Chair (2019 – Remaster)
04 – The Scorpion (2019 – Remaster)
05 – Tears In a Vial (2019 – Remaster)
06 – I Know Jack (2019 – Remaster)
07 – Back In the Day (2019 – Remaster)
08 – Something That I’m Not (2019 – Remaster)
09 – Truth Be Told (2019 – Remaster)
10 – Of Mice and Men (2019 – Remaster)
11 – Shadow of Deth (2019 – Remaster)
12 – My Kingdom (2019 – Remaster)
13 – Time / Use the Man (Live)
14 – Conjuring (Live)

Dave Mustaine – lead and rhythm guitars, lead vocals
Chris Poland – lead guitar
Jimmie Lee Sloas – bass
Vinnie Colaiuta – drums

Pre Order:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.