JOHN SYKES – Please Don’t Leave Me [Japan remastered SHM-CD]

JOHN SYKES - Please Don't Leave Me [Japan remastered SHM-CD] (2016) full

Last May, Universal Music Japan has started a reissue series of classic albums on SHM-CD, remastered and with a very affordable price. One of these to get for sure is the much sought after “Please Don’t Leave Me” by the great JOHN SYKES.

Composed by future Whitesnake guitarist John Sykes, “Please Don’t Leave Me” was released as single under his name in 1982. The song features Thin Lizzy band members Phil Lynott on vocals and bass, Brian Downey on drums and Darren Wharton (later founder of Dare) on keyboards.

Sykes joined Tygers Of Pan Tang in 1980, and played guitar on the albums Spellbound (1981) and Crazy Nights (1982), as well as participating on two tracks for their 1983 release, The Cage.
But MCA Records saw potential in Sykes as solo artist, and gave him the opportunity to release “Please Don’t Leave Me” as single to taste the waters.

The single, including a terrific instrumental version of the song as B-side, was quite successful, however Sykes could not resist when, after recording the song together, Phil Lynott asked him to join Thin Lizzy as lead guitarist. He participated in the recording of the band’s final studio album Thunder & Lightning, and contributed the track ‘Cold Sweat.
In 1983 David Coverdale hired Sykes to join Whitesnake and the rest is history…

Ten years after of its original release and due to John Sykes’ fame with Whitesnake and Blue Murder, “Please Don’t Leave Me” was re-released in 1992, this time in the form of a compilation album that included a selection of non-album studio and live tracks from Sykes’ tenure with Tygers Of Pan Tang.

This is a great record featuring not only the superb “Please Don’t Leave Me” in its original, edited and instrumental versions, but also a young Sykes (most of the material was recorded when he was 21 years old) plenty of fire, showcasing his awesome skills and how he evolved as player from here.
Great remastering job on this SHM-CD, punchy but not brickwalled.
Highly Recommended


Universal Music Japan ~ 【UICY-25650 – SHM-CD】

01 – Please Don’t Leave Me
02 – Don’t Take Nothing
03 – Bad Times
04 – All Or Nothing
05 – Don’t Give A Damn
06 – Please Don’t Leave Me (Short Version)
07 – Slave to Freedom (Live)
08 – Raised on Rock (Live)
09 – Paradise Drive
10 – Love Potion No.9
11 – Please Don’t Leave Me (Instrumental)

John Sykes – guitar, vocals
Philip Lynott – vocals, bass
Brian Downey – drums
Darren Wharton – keyboards



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.