TWO FIRES – Ignition [Japan edition +1]

TWO FIRES - Ignition [Japan edition +1] full

Requested by one of you it’s a real pleasure to feature here TWO FIRES second album “Ignition”, which never has been remastered but this Japanese Edition including a bonus track is quite hard to find.
Two Fires is the band made up of remaining two members from the awesome AOR band The Storm: superb vocalist Kevin Chalfant and terrific guitarist Josh Ramos.

After the successful self-titled debut, Two Fires released their second effort titled “Ignition”. On the previous album there was a collaboration on one track with Survivor’s Jim Peterik, and here it was augmented.
Indeed, ‘Mr. Melody Jimbo’ co-writes half of the songs here.

Additionally, musicians on the recording include renowned cats such as Jeff Jacobs (Foreigner) on keyboards, Atma Anur (Steve Perry, Tony McAlpine) on drums, Rick Powell on bass and Alby Odum on rhythm guitars.

TWO FIRES - Ignition [Japan edition +1] booklet

Many fans resulted disappointed with “Ignition”, expecting a more AOR album in the vein of debut. But keep in mind that most of these songs were written for The Storm’s third album that ended with the Two Fires moniker.
“Ignition” is the natural evolution of the band, more classic rock oriented, even more with Peterik involved who at the time was performing with a similar sound / style with his project World Stage.

So make no mistake; “Ignition” is a very good album in its own right, just different from the previous.
You can’t deny the quality of the flamboyant title track, the classic as-it-gets love-song “More than a Mystery”, and the stylish groove of “I see Red”.

Significant are also the inclusions of the Perry-like ballad “This Night” and the awesome “The Man I Want To Be” which has a vibe recalling of Whitesnake’s ‘Here I go Again’.
On the other hand, ‘What The Whole World Need To Know’ shows Kevin’s inclination for blues, one of the tracks delivering variation.

TWO FIRES - Ignition [Japan edition +1] back

“Ignition” is just another example of Chalfant / Ramos talents, American melodic rock music in the vein of Journey, Boston, Foreigner and classic Bryan Adams, with an extra touch this time by the hand of Survivor’s Jim Perterik and a more ‘classic rock’ focus.
Highly Recommended

01 – Ignition
02 – Somewhere Far Away
03 – More Than A Mystery
04 – You’re Bringing Me Down
05 – I’m Falling
06 – I See Red
07 – This Night
08 – The Man I Want To Be
09 – I Will Remember You
10 – What The Whole World Needs To Know
11 – All That (All Night Long)

Kevin Chalfant – Vocals
Josh Ramos – Guitar
Kenny Aronoff – Drums
Rick Powell – Bass
Alby Odum – Guitar
Jeff Jacobs (Foreigner) – Keyboards
Atma Anur (Steve Perry) – Drums
Jerry Lee Gingery – Bass, Guitar
Michael Gardner – add Guitar
Chuck Giacinto – Keyboards


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.