SAIGON KICK – Water [Rock Candy remaster +1] (2018) *EXCLUSIVE*

SAIGON KICK - Water [Rock Candy remaster +1] (2018) full

Rock Candy specialists have just ‘Remastered & Reloaded‘ all three SAIGON KICK albums with bonus tracks. Water is Saigon Kick’s third album, their first to feature guitarist Jason Bieler on lead vocals, and presenting new bassist Chris McLernon.

Saigon Kick’s fortunes were radically reshaped with the release of their second album, ‘The Lizard’ and it contained the hit single ‘Love Is On The Way’. It was a track that made them MTV stars, helping to achieve a gold album.
This was a major coup for this much-loved Florida four piece that had been signed to Atlantic Records via the imprint Third Stone, a company owned by Hollywood A-Lister Michael Douglas.

However, despite these achievements, all was not well within the band’s ranks. By 1992, bassist Tom DeFile and vocalist Matt Kramer had left the group. Kramer had clashed with main songwriter Jason Bieler and it was mutually agreed that the only way to solve the problem was for Matt to depart.

SAIGON KICK - Water [Rock Candy remaster +1] (2018) disc

Not surprisingly this move left the label somewhat confused as the project was set to move to another level of success.
As with the previous record, it was agreed that Bieler could not only self-produce and record mainly in Sweden, but also take on the role as lead vocalist. It was a brave move and not one without reservations from various interested parties.

Issued in 1993, “Water” was actually another comprehensive statement of intent. It signalled a move towards experimentation but the original framework was still intact.
Hard riffing but melodic tracks, such as ‘One Step Closer’ and ‘Torture’ nestled comfortably with such wide screen melodic rock / pop psych fare as ‘Sgt. Steve’, ‘Close To You’ and ‘Fields Of Rape’.
Oh, and look out for a superb version of Bowie’s ‘Space Oddity’.

SAIGON KICK - Water [Rock Candy remaster +1] (2018) back

A very solid, rocking album in its own right, “Water” is the third and final major label album from this brilliant Florida based band, fully digitally remastered for the first time by Rock Candy including a bonus track.
Highly Recommended

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox


01 – One Step Closer
02 – Space Oddity
03 – Water
04 – Torture
05 – Fields Of Rape
06 – I Love You
07 – Sgt. Steve
08 – My Heart
09 – On And On
10 – The Way
11 – Sentimental Girl
12 – Close To You
13 – When You Were Mine
14 – Reprise
15 – Not Enough

Jason Bieler – vocals, guitar, keyboards, bass
Chris McLernon – bass, guitar, backing vocals
Phil Varone – drums, percussion, piano



You may also like...

2 Responses

  1. Ash Gibbins says:

    New links if u can. “The Lizard” is one of my all-time faves from 90s rock

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.