TWISTED SISTER – Love Is For Suckers +4 [Remastered / European release]

TWISTED SISTER - Love Is For Suckers [Remastered +4] full

With the new Dee Snider solo album out, one of you asked for a remastered version of “Love Is For Suckers“, the fifth studio album of TWISTED SISTER but in fact a Dee Snider solo record.
The material was originally meant to be the first Snider solo album, but the recording label pushed for it to be released under the Twisted Sister name instead.

Produced by melodic rock / AOR guru Beau Hill who at the time was working with Winger for their debut album, he brought to play on the record the likes of Reb Beach & Kip Winger, and TNT’s guitarist Ronni Le Tekro who also arranged many of the songs.
“Love Is For Suckers” is, in many ways, a Twisted Sister album in name only, despite the presence of a few muscular anthems in the threatening “Wake Up (The Sleeping Giant)”, the vicious title track, and rhythmic “Yeah Right”.

Snider wanted a more melodic sound for this, his album, and the overall style here is glossy glammy melodic rock with a punch, radio friendly melodies and catchy choruses according to the era, 1987.

TWISTED SISTER - Love Is For Suckers [Remastered +4] disc

“Hot Love”, “Tonight” and “Me and the Boys” are clear examples of commercial rockers ready for MTV, but there’s also very good deeper cuts such as “I’m So Hot for You,” “One Bad Habit” and “You Are All That I Need”, and the obligatory (and a bit sappy) ballad “I Want This Night (To Last Forever).”

In my book “Love Is For Suckers” shouldn’t be considered as a Twisted Sister album, they were much more edgy and aggressive, instead, this is a very good second half of the ’80s melodic hard rock record with that huge ‘glossy production’.

TWISTED SISTER - Love Is For Suckers [Remastered +4] back

Sharp riffs and crystal clear solos by at the time Wingers’ Reb Beach, synths, layered choruses – there’s Kip Winger providing harmony vocals but also Jimmy Chalfant & Steve Whiteman from KIX, and even the complete band Reckless – which debut album ‘No Frills’ released the same year was produced by Mark Mendoza and J.J. French of Twisted Sister – hence the connection.
This remastered reissue sounds bigger, and adds as bonus tracks 4 songs from the same recording sessions.
Highly Recommended


01 – Wake Up (The Sleeping Giant)
02 – Hot Love
03 – Love Is For Suckers
04 – I’m So Hot For You
05 – Tonight
06 – Me And The Boys
07 – One Bad Habit
08 – I Want This Night (To Last Forever)
09 – You Are All That I Need
10 – Yeah Right
11 – Feel Appeal
12 – Statutory Datel
13 – If That’s What You Want
14 – I Will Win

Dee Snider – lead vocals
Eddie Ojeda – guitar, backing vocals
Jay Jay French – guitar, backing vocals
Mark “The Animal” Mendoza – bass, backing vocals

actually play on the record:
Reb Beach (Winger) – rhythm guitar, solos, backing vocals
Ronni Le Tekro (TNT) – rhythm guitar, solos, backing vocals
Kip Winger (Winger) – bass, harmony vocals
Joey Franco – drums, percussion
Beau Hill – keyboards, backing vocals, producer
The New West Horns – horns
Jimmy Chalfant (KIX), Steve Whiteman (KIX) – backing vocals
Reckless band (Chris Cintron, Gary Kriss, Bob Gam, B. Smith) – backing vocals



You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.