VIXEN – Live Fire (2018)

VIXEN - Live Fire (2018) full

Live Fire” is the new 2018 release from classic ’80s rock veterans VIXEN to be released tomorrow. Mixed by Michael Wagener, the album features 12 live tracks recorded at Chicago’s legendary Arcada Theater during the group’s successful 2017 tour.
In addition to the classic Vixen songs, the effort also includes a newly recorded studio version of the song “You Ought to Know By Now”, a new studio acoustic version of their hit song “Edge of a Broken Heart” and a live version of a previously unreleased track called “Big Brother”.

Vixen first burst onto the scene in the ’80s and achieved large scale commercial success with songs like “Edge of A Broken Heart”, “Cryin” and “Love Made Me”.
The band has sold over a million albums, had six #1 videos on MTV, four songs on Billboard’s Top 100 and is the only platinum selling all female ’80s act.

What made the difference with this 2018 Vixen and the past decade incarnation of the band is the presence of Janet Gardner. Janet IS the voice of Vixen, and she’s in very good form all over “Live Fire”.
The group is indeed ‘on fire’ in this show, very well recorded and mixed (you can hear Michael Wagener’s hand on it).
You have all the hits including ‘Cryin’, ‘Rev It Up’, ‘Love Is a Killer’ or ‘Love Made Me’, but also a new song titled ‘Big Brother’ – a hot hard rocker with a Lita Ford vibe on it.

VIXEN - Live Fire (2018) poster

As bonus tracks there’s a newly recorded studio version of the song ‘You Ought to Know By Now’, now re-done with more biting guitars and lots of harmonies in the chorus, and a new, nice studio acoustic version of their hit song “Edge of a Broken Heart’.
It’s great to hear Vixen in good form, rocking with refreshed energy, and continuing writing new music (there’s a studio album in the making) with their eyes set firmly on the future.
Highly Recommended

01 – Rev It up (Live)
02 – How Much Love (Live)
03 – One Night Alone (Live)
04 – Cryin (Live)
05 – Meet the Band (Live)
06 – Rock Me (Live)
07 – Streets in Paradise (Live)
08 – I Don’t Need No Doctor (Live)
09 – Love Is a Killer (Live)
10 – Love Made Me (Live)
11 – Big Brother (Live) – Previously Unreleased
12 – Edge of a Broken Heart (Live)
13 – You Ought to Know by Now (Studio Vesrion)
14 – Edge of a Broken Heart (Acoustic Studio Version)

Janet Gardner – vocals
Roxy Petrucci – drums
Share Ross – bass
Britt Lightning – guitars


You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Maracus Baldec says:

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.