HOLY WATER – The Collected Sessions 1982-2009

HOLY WATER - The Collected Sessions 1982-2009 full

HOLY WATER was one of these studio projects highly praised by music industry insiders but fans never had the chance to enjoy their music because the band remained unsigned. Several bootleg versions of the songs created by the project circulated for years, until some time ago all were compiled by Perris Records and released as “The Collected Sessions“.

Holy Water was formed in the early ’80s by guitarist Thomas Jude (Doro Pesch Band), bass player Freddy Villano (Quiet Riot, Widowmaker) and vocalist David Knight, including in these recordings renowned players such as Chuck Bonfante (Saraya, Drive She Said), Jay Davidson (Cinderella), Bobby Marks (Keel), and many more.

One of the band’s demo tape ended into the hands of Al Greenwood (Spys, Foreigner) who impressed by the quality, contacted the guys and invited them to work together.
“The Collected Sessions” features material ranging from various sessions, but the ice of the cake are those Greenwood-produced cuts known as ‘The Green Machine / Grand Slam Sessions’ done around 1990-1992.

You can’t go wrong with the pure AOR / Melodic Rock huge hooklines and fantastic harmony vocals of tunes such as “If I Knew Then…”, the more rocking “Some Things Have To Happen” and “Once Is Not Enough”, but specially the outstanding AOR heaven of “I’m Not Worried Anymore”.
Sound quality is really good, according to 1990-1992 period of the genre.

It’s curious to hear a song recorded in 1982, a cover of Elton John’s “Crocodile Rock” done in some kind of a synth-driven rocker which bring to mind Steel Breeze.
The 2 songs known as ‘Studio 1212 Sessions’ are from 1989, and not surprisingly with a little hair metal flair, akin Danger Danger, especially “If I Knew Then…”. Also, there’s two tracks completed for this release, ‘The Perris Sessions’.

HOLY WATER - The Collected Sessions 1982-2009 - inside

Now Holy Water are back still with Jude & Villano as permanent members but with a different vocalist due to David Knight’s sudden death some years ago.
Great stuff for classic Melodic Rock / AOR fans out there.

01 – I’m Not Worried Anymore
02 – If I Knew Then…
03 – Some Things Have to Happen
04 – Once Is Not Enough
05 – If I Knew Then
06 – Monster Iff
07 – Crocodile Rock
08 – Living for the City
09 – All I Need

David Knight – vocals
Thomas Jude – guitar
Freddy Villano – bass
Tony Galtieri – drums
Al Greenwood – keyboards, production (1, 2, 3, 4)
Kenny Hamberg – keyboards (5)
Jay Davidson – keyboards, sax (8, 9)
Chuck Bonfante – drums (1, 2, 3)
Rich Ferrara – drums (4)
Charlie Ambrosia – drums (5, 6)
Tyrone Cannon – drums (7)
Bobby Marks – drums (8, 9)
Matthew Bradley – guitar, bass (7)
Michael Harmon – guitar and tambourine (8, 9)
Patrick Klein – rhythm guitar (8, 9)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.