DEE SNIDER – For The Love Of Metal (2018)

DEE SNIDER - For The Love Of Metal (2018) full

Influential hard rock musician, reality TV star, Broadway alumni, horror movie director, radio host – DEE SNIDER, the face and voice of the legendary Twisted Sister, has a career many would kill for. And yet the singer’s thirst is far from being quenched; Snider hasinked a deal with Napalm Records for his upcoming solo album “For The Love Of Metal” produced by Hatebreed vocalist Jamey Jasta and featuring contributions from Howard Jones (ex-Killswitch Engage), Mark Morton (Lamb Of God), Alissa White-Gluz (Arch Enemy), Joel Grind and Nick Bellmore (Toxic Holocaust) and Charlie Bellmore (Kingdom Of Sorrow).

“For The Love Of Metal” came to fruition when Hatebreed frontman, Jamey Jasta, suggested to Snider that he do another record which would be contemporary metal and Jasta offered to be a part of it. Snider mulled it over and then took Jasta up on the offer.
Dee relinquished control of the songwriting and gave the reins to Jasta who would collect the songs and bring them to Dee and determine which would be the best fit for the album.

While “For The Love Of Metal” isn’t a ‘perfect’ album, it’s got some pretty damn fine moments on it. In addition to guest songwriters, Jasta hooked Dee up with a band to cut the tracks.
The result is a bombastic sounding album that sounds akin to Dee’s Widowmaker album ‘Stand By For Pain’ meets Metallica.

The standouts on the album include the ferocious “Tomorrow’s No Concern” (think Metallica circa 1991), the punchy “I Am The Hurricane” (with a hard rock pulse), the patriotic and anthemic “American Made” and the duet “Dead Hearts (Love Thy Enemy)” featuring Arch Enemy singer Alissa White-Gluz, which works incredibly well as ‘the’ ballad for an album like this.

If the cards fall right, “For The Love Of Metal” it might even do for Dee what Resurrection did for Rob Halford, a comparison brought to mind by the album’s blazing, Painkiller-like opener, “Lies Are A Business”.
Not all 12 songs hit the mark, but overall this is a competent and engaging listen that begs the question of why no one thought of this sooner. Production is excellent, punchy and vibrant.
This is very much a ‘metal’ record. It’s modern, but dig deep into these songs and you’ll find an ’80s heart.
Very Recommended

01. Lies Are A Business
02. Tomorrow’s No Concern
03. I am The Hurricane
04. American Made
05. Roll Over You
06. I’m Ready
07. Running Mazes
08. Mask
09. Become The Storm
10. The Hardest Way
11. Dead Hearts (Love Thy Enemy)
12. For The Love of Metal

Dee Snider – vocals
Charlie Bellmore – guitar, bass
Nicky Bellmore – drums
Howard Jones – guest vocals (10)
Alissa White-Gluz – guest vocals (11)
Tanya O’Callahan – bass (10)


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.