SUNSTORM – The Road To Hell (2018)

SUNSTORM - The Road To Hell (2018) full

Legendary vocalist Joe Lynn Turner’s SUNSTORM project will release its fifth album, “The Road To Hell“, on June 8 via Frontiers Music.
A few weeks ago messages about Turner suffering a heart attack left us worried and concerned. Let us hope Joe makes a speedy recovery and will be able to do what he does best and that is sing hard rockin’ music.

Before this unfortunate happening Joe had finished the recordings for another Sunstorm album. This CD has been taped with the same line up that make the 2016 release Edge Of Tomorrow. Only drummer Francesco Jovino was replaced by Edo Sala but Simone Mularoni (guitar), Alessandro Del Vecchio (keyboards / production) and bass player Nic Mazzucconi have made their contribution to this new CD “The Road To Hell”.

I have a bit of concern about the Frontiers tactics to have their team write and produce some of their records. It is a bit of a new car coming from the automatic factory belt. Not a lot of variation and a reasonably cheap way to put another record out there.
It has led to several records that sound too much like each other. I mean how many songs can Del Vecchio and Mularoni write – or arrange in case of external songwriters – in one year without starting to repeat themselves a bit?

Luckily for Sunstorm there is this man that when he takes places behind the microphone in the studio he is able to make the songs his own and put his own mark on everything.
Joe Lynn Turner has that ability and class, making sure that “The Road To Hell” is another pleasant venture for his fans. Most of the songs are in the same direction as the previous Sunstorm albums (hello Deep Purple and Rainbow plus AOR melodies), but when Joe starts singing, things just come together.
And we must not forget that Del Veccchio and Mularoni are seasoned musicians who always deliver a certain standard of quality. No matter who it is they write for or work with.

Those are the main reasons that “The Road To Hell” is another strong melodic hard rock / AOR Sunstorm record with good songs, solid musicianship, fine production, and above all, a top notch vocalist that has delivered for at least four decades now.
Listen to the keyboard driven ‘Only the Good Will Survive’, the spellbinder ‘State of the Heart’, the strong ballad ‘Everywhere’ or the robust rocker ‘Resurrection’ and I’ll bet you’ll be hooked on this.
Joe still rules.
HIGHLY Recommended

01. Only The Good Will Survive
02. The Road To Hell
03. On The Edge
04. Blind The Sky
05. My Eyes On You
06. Future To Come
07. Everywhere
08. Resurrection
09. Calling
10. State Of The Heart
11. Still Fighting

Joe Lynn Turner – Lead Vocals
Alessandro Del Vecchio – Keyboards, Vocals
Simone Mularoni – Guitar
Nik Mazzucconi – Bass
Edo Sala – Drums


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.