SAPPHIRE EYES – Breath Of Ages (2018)

SAPPHIRE EYES - Breath Of Ages (2018) full
HERE     the REAL one

SAPPHIRE EYES is the realization of an ambition that has been knocking about in Alyson Avenue keyboardist Niclass Olsson’s head for several years; to form a male-fronted AOR band. Sapphire Eyes already pleased us four years ago with its self-titled debut, and now are back with second opus “Breath Of Ages” to be released in a few days.
This is classic AOR in the vein of Alyson Avenue spiced up with a good shot of melodic rock. That edge is supplied by some terrific, high-energy guitar work, backed up by rock-solid performances on drums and bass, as well as by some passionate vocals.

All this makes for a nice contrast to the beautiful, silky-smooth AOR-sounds beneath, thanks to Olsson’s ivory skills. Add in some harmonies, lots of grab-you-by-the heart lyrics and some delicious ear-pleasing melodies, and you have an impressive collection of tracks on your hands.
This really is high quality AOR; full of shimmering keys, guitars that punch and soar in equal measure, strident rhythms and those oh so delicious, honey-soaked vocal verses / choruses.

Original Alyson Avenue female singer Anette Olzon (again with the band after a time with Nightwish) appears on the ballad ‘I Won’t Leave With A Lie’, one of the highlights.
But Sapphire Eyes excel on the full-on melodic rockers such as ‘My Desire’, the hooky ‘Never Again’, the Scandi keyboard-filled ‘Chasing Dreams’, the anthemic ‘Maybe’ and the quite rocking ‘Into Paradise’

Do you need class AOR? Check the soaring ‘One In A Million’ (love the chorus), the wonderful keyboards / synths of ‘Endless Hope’, ore the elegant midtempo ‘Wherever You Go’ with its clean guitars and soaring verses.
This really is a wondrous Melodic Rock flavoured AOR album that I can’t recommend highly enough. It therefore needs to be added to your already long list of must have purchases this year.

You’ve seen it first here, at 0dayrox

01 – My Desire
02 – I Don’t Wanna Be Alone
03 – Endless Hope
04 – Never Again
05 – I Won’t Leave With A Lie (feat Anette Olzon)
06 – Chasing Dreams
07 – Wherever You Go
08 – Maybe
09 – Into Paradise
10 – One In A Million

Release date TBA

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.