DARE – Out Of The Silence II [Anniversary Special Edition] (2018)

DARE - Out Of The Silence II [Anniversary Special Edition] (2018)  full

One of the UK’s leading Melodic Rock bands, DARE, will release their new album “Out Of The Silence II” on June 29th, 2018 via their own label Legend Records.
‘Out Of the Silence’ is one of the band’s numerous classics. For the 30th anniversary of this record, the group around singer Darren Wharton and guitarist Vinny Burns re-recorded all tracks with a rockier, 2018 updated approach.

Amazing to think the classic album ‘Out Of The Silence’ is thirty years old… Like fellow melodic rockers FM did on ‘Indiscreet’, Dare have decided to re-record a classic album, mainly so they can get back the musical rights which the original record label are seemingly reluctant to release to the band.
Some fans, when they heard the news thought it was going to be a sequel, however as Darren Wharton states the album has been re-recorded and “has taken on a new life.”
Wharton is joined by original guitarist Vinny Burns, Kev Whitehead (drums), the ‘Blood From Stone’ album’s bassist Nigel Clutterbuck and Marc Roberts (keys).

You just can’t go wrong with this album from the opening keys on ‘Abandon’ through to the closing notes of ‘Don’t Let Go’, it is as the oft used phrase says ‘all killer, no filler’.
Darren’s vocals are still in fine form as can be heard on the aforementioned ‘Abandon’, where his singing on the chorus is still a magical moment on the ears and senses. The keys still pomp it up on ‘Into The Fire’, one of my favorite songs from the band.

There are a few musical tweaks such as on the tribute to Phil Lynott ‘King Of Spades’ the band add a little more Celtic music to the song (as does ‘Raindance’), something Dare have done since 1998′s ‘Calm Before The Storm’.
Vinny Burns lays down a few rockier solos and the awesome ballad ‘Nothing Is Stronger Than Love’ has a bigger production and a stunning guitar solo that possibly tops the original.

DARE - Out Of The Silence II [Anniversary Special Edition] (2018) inside

The original album was a classic of its time and still sounds good today. With this re-recorded version it allows the band to celebrate the album’s anniversary their way and add a few modern touches here and there, whilst keeping true to the original album’s feel and sound.
It’s Dare, it’s quality.
HIGHLY Recommended

01. Abandon
02. Into The Fire
03. Nothing Is Stronger Than Love
04. Runaway
05. Under The Sun
06. The Raindance
07. King Of Spades (Special Edition)
08. Heartbreaker
09. Return The Heart
10. Don’t Let Go

Darren Wharton – Vocals, Keyboards
Vinny Burns – Guitar
Kev Whitehead – Drums
Nigel Clutterbuck – Bass
Marc Robert – Keyboards


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.